Live at KEXP, Vol II – 10 DAYS LEFT!


In 2006 KEXP had the pleasure and pride to present Live at KEXP Volume 2. The songs on the CD constitute only a fraction of the incredible in-studio performances we had the honor of presenting. We take seriously our role in offering you insight into the creative process of the artists who make the music that matters. Truly a labor of love, we hosted over 370 exclusive live in-studio performances in 2005, which are archived on our website, and close to 400 in 2006.

We did our best to capture the spirit and vibrancy of KEXP, and the magic and intimacy of the in-studio performances. This CD exemplifies the wide and deep mix of musical styles we play – from local artists to international stars; from well-established icons to up-and-coming legends; from major label artists to Skullbot, a trio of high school students from Stanwood, Washington, who at the time of the CD’s pressing had only a demo of their music available.

We are thankful to the artists who contributed to this CD for their generosity in allowing us to share these unique performances with you, and to all of the artists we’ve had the privilege of working with over the years. We have the pleasure of acknowledging the amazing people who work and play in the Seattle music community. The power of the combined efforts of so many creative and dynamic people greatly enhances the quality of all of our lives.

Live at KEXP Volume 2 is a heartfelt expression of our devotion to music and of our deep gratitude we feel towards you, our impassioned listener and supporter. You are a constant inspiration to us, and your support makes possible everything we do at KEXP. Here’s what you’ll hear:

1. Lyrics Born – “Callin’ Out”
2. Gang of Four – “What We All Want”
3. Thievery Corporation – “Warning Shots”
4. Tapes N Tapes – “Insistor”
5. Sleater-Kinney – “Jumpers”
6. Ted Leo and the Pharmicists – “Walking to Do”
7. Death Cab for Cutie – “Crooked Teeth”
8. The Decemberists – “We Both Go Down Together”
9. Zero 7 – “Home”
10. Common Market – “Connect Four”
11. M.I.A. – “Galang”
12. Band of Horses – “The Funeral”
13. The Wedding Present – “Ringway to Sea-Tac”
14. Editors – “Munich”
15. Skullbot – “Lookout”
16. Bright Eyes – “At the Bottom of Everything”
17. Trashcan Sinatras – “Weightlifting”
18. Aqualung – “Brighter than Sunshine”
19. Drive By Truckers – “World of Hurt”
20. Patti Smith (with Lenny Kaye) – “People Have the Power”

Live at KEXP is only available for purchase until the end of the year, and a big thanks to the artists who donated their time and performances. It is available on our website, and at the following local Seattle retailers who sell the CD at no markup or profit so that all of the proceeds benefit KEXP:

Cellophane Square Easy Street Everyday Music PCC Natural Markets Silver Platters Sonic Boom

This entry was posted in Kevin Cole, Live Performances. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] Original post by KEXP […]

  2. […] Original post by Kevin Cole […]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories