Today in Music: Cloud Cult, the Jam, Bjork, Explosions in the Sky, Deerhunter, Modest Mouse and more.

Cloud Cult’s new album The Meaning of 8 won’t be in stores until April, but it is available for pre-sale from their website. In the meantime, here’s the video for a new song called “Chemicals Collide.” Get info on their upcoming tour and stream more new songs.

Saw this video of the Jam yesterday. It was originally posted on Waved Rumor last week, and it’s awesome so we thought we’d share it again. Paul Weller from 30 years ago!

  • The details on the new Bjork record are a little less clear today.
  • Nice to see the Beatles and Apple Computer resolved their differences yesterday.
  • Fans of Explosions in the Sky will be excited for this feature on their new album over at My Old Kentucky Blog. Here’s a song from the new record, All of A Sudden I Miss Everyone

    Explosions in the Sky – Welcome, Ghosts (MP3)

  • There’s a nice piece on the Apples in Stereo at You Ain’t No Picasso, and another very favorable review at Tiny Mix Tapes. The new record, New Magnetic Wonder is out today and it’s amazing.
  • For everyone in New York, here’s some updated presale info and tour dates for Elvis Perkins & Clap Your Hands Say Yeah.
  • Deerhunter announce a tour. They’ll be at Neumo’s on April 10.
  • The Rapture has announced the formation of a New York based label called Throne of Blood. They initially plan to release special vinyl versions of singles and remixes from their record Pieces of the People We Love. They’re having a launch party on February 16th at Studio B in Brooklyn.
  • An Aquarium Drunkard posted a couple MP3s from The Good, the Bad & the Queen, the Damon Albarn led collaboration with Tony Allen, Paul Simonon, Simon Tong, and producer Danger Mouse.
  • My Old Kentucky Blog also has an MP3 from the new Modest Mouse record, We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank. Yes, that’s Johnny Marr, the newest member of Modest Mouse.
  • Finally, here’s a new song by local favorite thee Emergency, recorded live at Chuck Norris’s house on New Year’s Eve this year.
  • This entry was posted in Today in Music. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

    One Comment

    1. guest
      Posted February 23, 2007 at 1:43 am | Permalink

      hey if you’re into Explosions in the Sky or Deerhunter check out the upcoming EP from the POISON ARROWS called ‘Straight into the Drift.’ It comes out MARCH 20 on FILE 13 records.

      the album features ex-members of Don Caballero & Atombombpocketknife.

      The EP’s songs have a whole new developed sound that would appeal to fans of Unwound, Shellac, Don Cab. bass loops, angular guitars, sweet drum beats, droney keyboards!

      check out the new stuff on their myspace

    One Trackback

    1. […] Read the full article by KEXP […]

    Post a Comment

    Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    Donate Now!

    Donate to KEXP Today!

    Donate to KEXP Today!
    where the music matters

    The KEXP Blog

    Sponsored By
    Become a KEXP Sponsor!
    • KEXP Post Categories