Today in Music: !!!, a puzzle from the White Stripes, MP3s from Bright Eyes and Annuals, a new single from Arcade Fire and more

Every Monday-Friday, we deliver a different song as part our Song of the Day podcast subscription. The podcast features exclusive in-studio performances, unreleased songs, and recordings from independent musicians that KEXP DJs think you should hear. Today’s featured selection is from the 2007 album Myth Takes by !!!:

!!! – Heart of Hearts (MP3)

Catch !!! at Neumos on May 3. Learn more about podcasting and subscribe now.

  • Read about the Stone Roses’ possible reunion show this Friday in Manchester, courtesy of Stereogum.
  • The White Stripes posted an interesting little puzzle relating to the tracklist for their new record Icky Thump, courtesy of Stereogum. In related news, Pitchfork’s reporting that Jack White will play Elvis in a new film!
  • Pitchfork’s also reporting that on May 5, the Arcade Fire will release their first U.S. single from the new record Neon Bible. The a-side will be “Keep the Car Running” with the b-side “Broken Window.” Expect their traditionally impressive packaging for the 7″.
  • More SXSW coverage from You Ain’t No Picasso… Read about performances from Bishop Allen and Annuals at Mohawk. Download a couple MP3s:
  • Bishop Allen – Corazon (MP3)
    Annuals – Complete, Or Completing (MP3)

  • Ted Leo kicks off a massive tour today. Thursday’s show at the 9:30 Club in Washington, DC will be broadcast live on National Public Radio. Catch Ted Leo in Seattle at the Showbox on April 17.
  • Feist has a new record coming out this year called The Reminder. Here’s an MP3 from Feist’s debut album Monarch, courtesy of Six Eyes:
  • Feist – La Sirena (MP3)

  • Brooklyn Vegan has info about the upcoming shows from Patrick Wolf and Voxtrot at Webster Hall.
  • So Much Silence posted the video for the new Travis single “Closer.” None other than Ben Stiller makes a cameo!
  • Thanks to Rock Sellout for posting a couple MP3s from the new Bright Eyes record Cassadaga. Learn more about the new record and download two songs now:
  • Bright Eyes – Four Winds (MP3)
    Bright Eyes – No One Would Riot For Less (MP3)

  • Last but not least, our friends Three Imaginary Girls have a new site. Check them out because they’re awesome.
  • This entry was posted in KEXP, Today in Music. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


    1. Posted March 28, 2007 at 2:01 pm | Permalink

      Awww, thanks for the kind words, KEXP!! We think you’re awesome too.

    2. Morgan Kluck
      Posted March 28, 2007 at 4:11 pm | Permalink

      Thanks, but you said that songs off Feist’s new album Let it Die which is false in two ways. For one it’s not new it’s off her first album Monarch, and the new album is called the Reminder.

    3. KEXP
      Posted March 28, 2007 at 10:51 pm | Permalink

      Thanks Morgan! I made the change.
      – Andrew

    Post a Comment

    Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    Donate Now!

    Donate to KEXP Today!

    Donate to KEXP Today!
    where the music matters

    The KEXP Blog

    Sponsored By
    Become a KEXP Sponsor!
    • KEXP Post Categories