Today in Music: Can’t Hardly Wait

The Shins perform a “Take-Away Concert” for La Blogotheque
image from Chryde on Flikr

Every Monday-Friday, we deliver a different song as part our Song of the Day podcast subscription. The podcast features exclusive in-studio performances, unreleased songs, and recordings from independent artists that KEXP DJs think you should hear. Today’s featured selection, chosen by Morning Show host John Richards, is by Low Vs. Diamond and is found on their Life After Love EP on Marrakesh:

Low Vs. Diamond – Stay Awake (MP3)

The Los Angeles band has returned home after a tour of the US and the UK and is currently working on their debut full-length. You can learn more about Low Vs. Diamond on their website and listen to their entire EP. If you would like to learn more about podcasting and subscribe to our podcasts, go here.

While this week was a good one for new releases (we’re still listening to Nine Inch Nails and Elk City), there are still many, many more good things to come. Here’s what you should be waiting for:

  • One of the most anticipated releases right now is Bjork‘s forthcoming Volta. You’ve seen the artwork, you’ve heard a song, now all you have to do is sit back and wait for three weeks. It’ll be worth it, but for now you can read an interview with the Icelandic sprite at Brooklynvegan, watch this video below, and, if you get really bored, create your own Volta cover artwork over at Stereogum.
  • Possibly of equal interest, though much further off on the horizon, is the next Interpol album. However, blazing through the blogosphere are videos of two new songs the NYC brooders played in Ottawa on Sunday night. You can find them just about anywhere now, but we first saw this one on You Ain’t No Picasso:
  • You’ll probably have to wait a while for the next Snow Patrol album, but Spiderman 3 hits theaters in less than a month, and with it comes the new SP single “Signal Fire.” While you can feed your Venom jones by viewing a cinematic fan-made version of the video on YouTube, the official version is far more interesting and features kids re-enacting scenes from the story:
  • Many of you are eagerly awaiting June 18, when The White Stripes finally release Icky Thump. NME got a chance to listen to the album in its entirety and provides a track by track evaluation here.
  • Radiohead appears to be toying with our anticipation by releasing a 10-second clip of what fans on Ateaseweb have identified as a new song entitled “15 Step,” which the band has performed live in recent shows. The new song will likely be included on the band’s forthcoming release that is currently being referred to as LP7 and is only cryptically referred to on their blog Dead Air Space. Thankfully, Pitchfork explains how you too can get a-tease.
  • Finally, this is not something that you have to wait for: The Shins, who have already released their 2007 album, performed this “Take-Away Show” for La Blogotheque. In the video, the band in searches for a quiet place to perform an impromptu set, strumming and singing Love’s “Alone Again Or” until they just stop on a corner and break into “Gone For Good.” But what are we explaining it to you for? Watch it for yourself:
  • Thanks to Chrisopher Blue for a great in-studio performance this morning. Coming up at 3 pm, you can hear The Greyboy Allstars, whose “Still Waiting” was the Song of the Day podcast last Friday. If you missed either of these performances or want to hear them again, you can go back and listen on our Streaming Archive for the next 14 days.

    Don’t forget to keep on the lookout for any interesting news to share or other suggestions for music that we should be listening to and discussing. Email us at

    This entry was posted in KEXP, Song of the Day Podcast, Today in Music. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

    One Comment

    1. jayme
      Posted April 19, 2007 at 4:51 am | Permalink

      thanks for posting the shins video. i was recently in that part of paris (montmartre)-it’s beautiful. unfortunately, the shins didn’t follow me over at the same time.

    2 Trackbacks

    1. […] Read the full article by Jim, KEXP […]

    2. […] Declare Independence (mp3) (via Indie Selections For Your Erections: Bjork – Declare Independence) Earth Intruders (mp3) (via KEXP blog […]

    Post a Comment

    Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    Donate Now!

    Donate to KEXP Today!

    Donate to KEXP Today!
    where the music matters

    The KEXP Blog

    Sponsored By
    Become a KEXP Sponsor!
    • KEXP Post Categories