Today in Music: New Releases 6/26

photo by David Raccuglia

Easy Tiger, indeed. There’s no need to get worked up this week since you probably already have some of the albums released this week. No, I’m not talking about the early leak of the latest from Ryan Adams — because of course you wouldn’t have that. A quick glance at the new release list from the reliable Largehearted Boy shows a bevy of reissues and new compilations from artists like Blondie, Frank Black, Link Wray, Patti Smith, Paul Simon, Robert Earl Keene, Jr., and Lee Hazelwood. The sometime controversial Sinéad O’Connor doesn’t even wait for any time to elapse before reissuing her own Theology, which contains a second disc that is nearly identical to the first except that the songs are recorded in a different setting and with different accompaniment.

Not all of the veterans are resting on their laurels, though: Bryan Ferry, Nick Lowe, and Bad Brains all offer excellent new releases, as do other long-lasting artists besides the Beastie Boys, like Pearl Jam and Adam Franklin of Swervedriver. Here are a few samples to help you decide on your next musical purchases:

Ryan Adams – Everybody Knows (MP3) Frank Black – Robert Onion (MP3) Beastie Boys – The Rat Cage (MP3) Bad Brains – Give Thanks And Praises (MP3) Metric – Grow Up and Blow Away (MP3) Adam Franklin – Seize the Day (MP3)Nels Cline Singers – Caved-In Heart Blues (MP3)Gore Gore Girls – Pleasure Unit (MP3)
kexp blog
Although the all-things-Billy Corgan-related section of your CD library is already sagging the shelf with Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, you can add more weight to it with the four different versions of the new Smashing PumpkinsZeitgist. From yesterday comes the news that besides the standard edition of the album, there will be a different alternative track on the individual versions for iTunes, Best Buy and Target (the title track appears only on the Target version!). Expect the news to provoke a lot of ire and do nothing to help the cause against illegal internet downloading.
kexp blog
You still have to wait a couple of weeks for the new Interpol to be released, but while you wait you can listen to 30-second snippets — not the kind of thing I usually recommend, but they’re accompanied by videos using the same creepy natural history museum pictures of stuffed creatures as found on their revitalized website (and also on the Ola Podrida album cover!). Check them out at Quick Before It Melts.
kexp blog
You still have a while to wait before a new Radiohead album comes out, but last week producer Nigel Goodrich released this perplexing video mixing snippets of forthcoming songs. Take from it what you will:

This entry was posted in KEXP, Today in Music. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories