Today in Music: New Releases 7/24

John Vanderslice at SXSW 2006
photo by mrmatt

No need to break out the big shopping bag this week, as there are probably only a handful of new releases that you’ll be interested in. That’s not to say it’s slim pickings on Largehearted Boy‘s list, but the choices are varied: John Vanderslice and Bishop Allen may draw one crowd, Robbers on High Street and Manic Street Preachers another. Prince, Talib Kweli, and UNKLE a whole other. Of course, you KEXP listeners have eclectic tastes, so you just may want to pick up them all. Here are a few samples to help you choose:

In celebration of his latest release, Emerald City, John Vanderslice is releasing a live recording of each song from the album on a different blog each day. Each song was recorded at Tiny Telephone studio. The first, “Kookaburra,” was posted yesterday on Stereogum. Be sure to catch John Vanderslice at the Capitol Hill Block Party this weekend and live on KEXP next Monday morning at 9:30 am.

After a year of releasing a year’s worth of monthly EP‘s, Brooklyn band Bishop Allen is releasing their second full-length containing a number of those fantastic songs as well as two new songs, like “Rain.” On August 4, Bishop Allen will perform with Page France at the Crocodile Cafe in Seattle.

Bishop Allen – Rain (MP3) You can hear Tiny Vipers perform live in the KEXP studio today. Tiny Vipers is really the name under which Seattle’s Jesy Fortino performs, and Hands Across The Void, released today on Sub Pop, is her debut full-length: Tiny Vipers – On This Side (MP3) The EP of previously performed but not officially collected songs by Yeah Yeah Yeahs comes out today also. Here’s a great live performance of “Rockers to Swallow,” one of the five songs on Is Is. Thanks to Product Shop NYC for this: Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Rockers to Swallow [live] (MP3) Tegan and Sara, who recorded their latest, The Con, with Death Cab’s Chris Walla, documented their recording experience and their label, Sire, posted several “video chapters” on the ‘Tube. They are all as amusing as this chapter featuring “Hop a Plane”:

Here are a few more songs to consider, including a new one from UNKLE, featuring The Cult’s Ian Astbury (thanks to Rock Sellout for hosting this):

UNKLE – Crown Victoria (MP3) Prince – Planet Earth (MP3) Robbers On High Street – Crown Victoria (MP3) Okay, now go out there and fill your shopping carts!

This entry was posted in KEXP, Today in Music. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

  • Listen Live:

    High Quality AAC+
    Excellent for PC, Mac, iPhones/iPads, Android Devices, tables, iTunes, Winamp, and VLC. High quality audio, low bandwidth

    MP3 Stream
    Best for computers running OSX or Windows with iTunes or the open source VideoLAN Player installed

  • Breaking New Ground Together!

    Help Build Our New Home!

    The University of Washington Logo KEXP is an
    affiliate of the
    University of Washington
  • iTunes and KEXP

    iTunes Logo
    You can now find KEXP under "Eclectic" in iTunes after the demise of the "Public" category, to better represent the diversity of our daytime variety shows and numerous specialty programs.
Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories