Out This Week 1/27


Financially it might not seem so, but 2009 is shaping up to be the year of returns — at least when it comes to new releases. This week, Franz Ferdinand continue their streak of infectious pop with their third album, Tonight: Franz Ferdinand. Bruce Springsteen has done a quick turn around after his late 2007 winner, Magic. Strong sophomore releases come from LA duo The Bird and the Bee and Swedish musician Loney Dear (his fifth overall, really). Cotton Jones Basket Ride, from the wake of Page France, returns as merely Cotton Jones. Perhaps the most exciting return is the pairing once again of Mark Olson & Gary Louris, with their first new release together since Olson left the Jayhawks in 1995. Merge, hot on their 20 year anniversary, has released for the first time on CD two albums from Volcano Suns, the band formed by Mission of Burma drummer Peter Prescott back in the early 80’s. And the Cash reissues continue, though this time much more strangely with Johnny Cash Remixed, which features mixes from Alabama 3, Midnight Juggernauts, and Apparat, among others. Check out the rest on Largehearted Boy’s list, which includes a newer band, Peasant (a.k.a. Damien DeRose), who we hope to hear more from again and again.

A. Armada – The Moon Shifts The Sea The Sea Shapes The Shore The Shore Shakes The Sand The Sand Sinks The Ship (MP3)
from Anam Cara on Hello Sir Records

The Bird and the Bee – Love Letter to Japan (MP3)
from Ray Guns Are Not Just The Future on Blue Note

Johnny Cash Remixed – The Making of…
on Compadre Records

Cotton Jones – Blood Red Sentimental Blues (MP3)
from Paranoid Cocoon on Suicide Squeeze

Franz Ferdinand – Ulysses
from Tonight: Franz Ferdinand on Sony

Golden Boots – Love Is in the Air (MP3)
from Winter Of Our Discotheque on Park The Van

In-Flight Safety – Actors (MP3)
from We Are an Empire, My Dear on Night Danger

Lithops – Handed (MP3)
from Ye Viols! on Thrill Jockey

Loney Dear – Airport Surroundings (MP3)
from Dear John on Polyvinyl Records

The Middle States – No Curse, No Drunk, No Fight (MP3)
from the self-released Happy Fun Party

Of Montreal – First Time High (Reconstructionist Remix of “An Eluardian Instance”) (MP3)
from Jon Brion Remix EP on Polyvinyl Records

Mark Olson & Gary Louris – album promo
from Ready For The Flood on New West

Peasant – We’re good (movie)
from On The Ground on Paper Garden Records

The Phantom Band – Folk Song Oblivion (MP3)
from Checkmate Savage on Chemikal Underground

Bruce Springsteen – Life Itself
from Working On A Dream on Columbia

Volcano Suns – White Elephant (MP3)
from All-Night Lotus Party on Merge

Volcano Suns – Jak (MP3)
from Bright Orange Years on Merge

The Voyeurs – Things People Say (MP3)
from Well Known Drag on Otik/JAXART Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, New York, Out This Week!. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories