Out This Week 7/21


Just in time to cool down for the summer, Sigur Ros vocalist/guitarist Jon Thor Birgisson and his partner Alex Somers, aka Jónsi & Alex, who have been collaborating on visual art (and raw food recipes) for several years, are releasing their music debut, Riceboy Sleeps, today. Fans of Sigur Ros will definitely recognize the same frosty ambient tundra of the band’s quieter moments here on this release, which is also available as a limited boxset containing a bonus CD, a 40-page coloring book, wooden pencils, and the original Riceboy Sleeps hardback art book. Other chill new releases include the latest from The Fiery Furnaces, Magnolia Electric Co., Starlight Mints, The Skygreen Leopards, and Wye Oak, plus outstanding debuts from Generationals, Bad Veins, Soft Black, and Seattle’s Talbot Tagora. Also, Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs have fun on the second volume of Under The Covers, featuring potentially cheesy songs like “You’re So Vain,” “I’ve Seen All Good People,” and “Hello It’s Me,” and Epitaph has released the under-appreciated 2008 album Love Ire & Song from English folk/punk singer-songwriter Frank Turner. Check out Largehearted Boy’s list for the rest.

Bad Veins – Gold and Warm (MP3)
from Bad Veins on Dangerbird Records

Birds of Avalon – Your Downtime Is Up (MP3)
from Uncanny Valley on Volcom Entertainment

Blue Roses – Doubtful Comforts (MP3)
from Blue Roses on XL

Sean Bones – Dancehall (MP3)
from Rings on French Kiss

The Fiery Furnaces – The End Is Near (MP3)
from I’m Going Away on Thrill Jockey

Generationals – Angry Charlie (MP3)
from Con Law on Park the Van

Trevor Giuliani – Wasting Your Town (MP3)
from Subcontrario (In Stereo) on Dovecote Records

Lights – Heavy Drops (MP3)
from Rites on Drag City

Magnolia Electric Co. – Josephine (MP3)
from Josephine on Secretly Canadian

Megafaun – Kaufman’s Ballad (MP3)
from Gather, Form & Fly on Hometapes on Hometapes

Netherfriends – Friends with Lofts (MP3)
from Calling You Out EP on Emergency Umbrella

Portugal. The Man – People Say (MP3)
from The Satanic Satanist on Equal Vision Records

Riceboy Sleeps – Boy 1904 (MP3)
from Riceboy Sleeps on XL

The Skygreen Leopards – Dixie Cups in the Dead Grass (MP3)
from Gorgeous Johnny on Jagjaguwar

Soft Black – I Am an Animal (MP3)
from The Earth Is Black on Plays With Dolls Records

Spindrift – The Legend of God’s Gun (MP3)
from The Legend of God’s Gun on Tee Pee Records

Starlight Mints – Paralyzed (MP3)
from Change Remains on Barsuk

The Steps – Cold Floors (MP3)
from Take It All In on Playing In Traffic Records

Talbot Tagora – Ichmus Hop (MP3)
from Lessons in the Woods or a City on Hardly Art

Frank Turner – Photosynthesis
from Love Ire & Song (reissue) on Epitaph

Rachelle van Zanten – Halo (MP3)
from Where Your Garden Grows on RVZ Records

Wheat – Changes Is (MP3)
from White Ink, Blank Ink on The Rebel Group

Wye Oak – Take It In (MP3)
from The Knot on Merge

This entry was posted in KEXP, New York, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories