Out This Week 1/26


Music fanatics everywhere can breathe once again as this week’s new releases promise only the most excellent albums to come in 2010. Prolific folk artist Stephin Merritt has created yet another masterwork with Magnetic Field’s new album, Realism. Releasing 19 albums in 19 years under several get-ups, Realism is as inspirational and instrumentally seductive as Merritt’s latter works, staying true to his pessimistic outlook on love while shifting away from Magnetic Field’s signature abrasive sound. Complete with the flugelhorn, the harpsichord, children’s music and even the author Lemony Snicket (Daniel Handler) on accordion and backing vocals, Realism is a must-have for any indie folk collection.

Dream pop duo Beach House released their breathtaking third album and debut Sub Pop record, Teen Dream. The whimsical “Norway” and the wandering “Silver Soul” are the star tracks of the nighttime soundtrack, and guarantee to transport any listener to another world. Retribution Gospel Choir focus on big guitars and pop hooks with their second album 2. Unlike their debut, 2 separates the three-piece band from singer/guitarist Alan Sparhawk and bassist Steve Garrington’s former slowcore project, Low, giving them a well-deserved identity of their own.

San Fransisco sextet Citay released their riff heavy, jam monster, Dream Get Together. Influenced by momentous 70s sound, the soft-loud album is epic and energetic, refreshing from much of today’s dismal, downer melodies. Toronto punkers Fucked Up released a double-disc compilation of 25 of their hardest-to-find and uncollected 7″ and 12″ tracks with Couple Tracks: Singles 2002 – 2008, giving mosh pit lovers everywhere more of an excuse to thrash. British producer/multi-instrumentalist Kieran Hebden (a.k.a. Four Tet) explodes into the new year with his fresh and hypnotic fifth studio album There Is Love In You (“Love Cry” was featured as Monday’s Song of the Day). And, Welsh band Los Campesinos! ripen from their giddy pop beginnings with their third album, Romance Is Boring, saturated with fuzzed electric guitar, and catchy strings and horns.

All in all, this is a week of musical awesomeness with power labels generously releasing multiple albums. Sub Pop cranked out AFGCT’s self-titled album, along with those of Beach House and Retribution Gospel Choir. Matador released their various artist salute to the city of Austin, Texas with Casual Victim Pile: Austin 2010 along with Fucked Up‘s album. Drag City put out several records, including Major Star’s Return to Form, Scout Niblett’s The Calcination of Scout Niblett and The Red Krayola’s Five American Portraits. Even Thrill Jockey got multiple album action with Chicago Underground Duo’s Boca Negra and Robert A.A. Lowe & Rose Lazar’s Eclipses. Don’t forget to check out Largehearted Boy’s list for even more outstanding records before heading out to your local record shop.

AFGCT – Two Legged Dog (MP3)
from AFGCT on Sub Pop

Beach House – Norway (MP3)
from Teen Dream on Sub Pop

Thavius Beck – Go! (MP3)
from Dialogue on Mush

Boy Genius – Blame Love (MP3)
from Staggering (self-released)

Basia Bulat – Gold Rush (MP3)
from Heart of My Own on Rough Trade

Buraka Som Sistema – Aqui Para Voces
from Fabriclive 49 on Fabric Records

Cars & Trains – Intimidated By Silence (MP3)
from The Roots, The Leaves on Fake Four, Inc

Chicago Underground Duo – Spy on the Floor (MP3)
from Boca Negra on Thrill Jockey

Citay – Mirror Kisses (MP3)
from Dream Get Together on Dead Oceans

Clipd Beaks – Visions
from To Realize on Lovepump United

Corinne Bailey Rae – I’d Do It All Again
from The Sea on Capitol

Fucked Up – Neat Parts (MP3)
from Couple Tracks: Singles 2002 – 2008 on Matador

Follow That Bird! – The Ghosts That Wake You (MP3)
from Casual Victim Pile: Austin 2010 on Matador

Four Tet – Love Cry (MP3)
from There Is Love in You on Domino Records

Charlotte Gainsbourg – Heaven Can Wait
from IRM on Elektra

Gigi – The Old Graveyard (MP3)
from Maintenant on Tomlab

The Happy Hollows – Faces (MP3)
from Spells on +1 Records

Home – Photographed with Ease (MP3)
from Seventeen (or Home XVII) on Jagjaguwar

Los Campesinos! – These Are Listed Buildings (MP3)
from Romance Is Boring on Arts and Crafts

Robert A.A. Lowe & Rose Lazar – Fantomo de la Vitro Domo (MP3)
from Eclipses on Thrill Jockey

The Magnetic Fields – We Are Having a Hootenanny
from Realism on Nonesuch

Major Stars – The Space You Know (MP3)
from Return to Form on Drag City

My Brightest Diamond – Inside a Boy (MP3)
from Shark Remixes on Asthmatic Kitty

Never Shout Never – What Is Love?
from What Is Love? on Sire Records

Scout Niblett – The Calcination of Scout Niblett (MP3)
from The Calcination of Scout Niblett on Drag City

Nocando – Hurry Up and Wait (MP3)
from Jimmy the Lock on Alpha Pup

Oh No Ono – Helplessly Young (MP3)
from Eggs on Friendly Fire

Pit Er Pat – Water (MP3)
from The Flexible Entertainer on Thrill Jockey

The Red Krayola – Portrait of Wile E. Coyote (MP3)
from Five American Portraits on Drag City

Retribution Gospel Choir – Hide It Away (MP3)
from 2 on Sub Pop

Slow Six – The Night You Left New York (MP3)
from Tomorrow Becomes You on Western Vinyl

Tindersticks – Falling Down a Mountain
from Falling Down a Mountain on Constellation

VOICEsVOICEs – Flulyk Visions (MP3)
from Origins on Manimal Vinyl

Love Collector – First 48 (MP3)
from Various Artists: Casual Victim Pile: Austin 2010 on Matador

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories