Out This Week 2/2


This week features some unusual new releases with Texan electro folk band Midlake stealing the spotlight. The former high school jazz band kids diverge from the 70’s-esque, psych-pop sound of their 2006 breakout album, The Trials of Van Occupanter, and adopt a more organic, haunted vibe with The Courage of Others (they’re playing Portland’s Wonder Ballroom 3/6 and Bellingham’s Nightlife Lounge on 3/7). Mope-punk band The Soft Pack (who performedlive on KEXP on 1/23) dropped their original controversial name, The Muslims, and released their debut self-titled record (third career album) under their new and improved moniker. Don’t worry, they still rock the English new waver stuck in sunny SoCal attitude and sound.

Malian band Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni Ba‘s I Speak Fula is the first release for the new world music label Next Ambiance, a joint project of Sub Pop and KEXP DJ Jon Kertzer host of “The Best Ambiance” (every Monday 6-9 p.m.). Between Kouyate’s award-winning record, Segu Blue, and his band’s phenomal mix of Afro-beat and blues, Kertzer couldn’t have picked a better outfit to unveil his new label (Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni Ba are playing The Triple Door 3/16). The Album Leaf celebrate their 10-year anniversary with the commending A Chorus of Storytellers (playing Neumos 2/6), and Toro Y Moi put out the beatastic Causers of This (playing Chop Suey w/ The Ruby Suns 4/8).

Other worth mentioning albums are Pierced ArrowsDescending Shadows, The BrunettesPaper Dolls, and yes, Lil Wayne‘s Rebirth! Take a look at Largehearted Boy’s list for more information and additional new releases before hitting up your local record shop.

The Album Leaf – Falling From the Sun (MP3)
from A Chorus of Storytellers on Sub Pop

Banda De Turistas – Dias de prosperidad (MP3)
from Magical Radiophonic Heart on Nacional Records

The Hellgoats – Fish Sticks (MP3)
from Goodness Gracious on Grey Day

Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni Ba – Musow (MP3)
from I Speak Fula on Next Ambiance / Sub Pop

The Brunettes – Red Rollerskates
from Paper Dolls on Lil’ Chef Records

King of Prussia – Waitin for Somethin’ (MP3)
from The Time Of Great Forgetting on Kindercore Records

Lil Wayne – Prom Queen
from Rebirth on Cash Money Records

Midlake – Acts of Man
from The Courage of Others on Bella Union

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Misterio – Vampirella (MP3)
from 10 Year Old Zombie on Nacional Records

Nneka – The Uncomfortable Truth (MP3)
from Concrete Jungle on Yo Mama/Decon/Epic

Pierced Arrows – Let It Rain (MP3)
from Descending Shadows on Vice

Salvador Santana “Keyboard City (Dan Deacon remix) feat. GZA (MP3)
the original from Keyboard City on Quannum Projects

The Soft Pack – Answer to Yourself (MP3)
from The Soft Pack on Kemado Records

Toro Y Moi – Blessa (MP3)
from Causers of This on Carpark Records

U.S. Girls – Red Ford Radio (MP3)
from Go Grey on Stiltbreeze

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories