Thursday News Threads

  • White Stripes: Under Great White Northern Lights [of which the trailer is above] is being hailed as one of the best rock documentaries in the history of the genre. It follows Jack and Meg White’s 2007 Canadian tour where the band played remote towns and provinces, while finding time at each tour stop to make an unusual promotional appearance, playing on city buses, boats, bowling alleys (where they rolled a full game while rocking), and even one free daytime show in which they only played a single note. We in Seattle are pretty lucky to be one of only two cities in the world to get it before it’s March 16th DVD release. It will play 2/26 and 2/27 at the Northwest Film Forum… get tickets now before they sell out!

  • A new charity compilation from American Eagle Outfitters and Filter Magazine [I know…] is currently available. They’re calling it Hear to Help and it will benefit Haiti relief via Oxfam America. It features rarities, covers, and remixes from, among others, Grizzly Bear, Beck, Of Montreal, Vampire Weekend, the Breeders, Julian Casablancas, Noah and the Whale, and Camera Obscura.
  • LCD Soundsystem has finished their album. According to frontman James Murphy, on the band’s official website, “looks like we added another paris gig. oh, and something else. the fucking record is done.” Catch them May 30th at Sasquatch.
  • Rumours are flying that a new M.I.A. album is going to be released in June. The following posts were tweeted by the singer: “BANNED FROM LEAVING THE U.S, FAMILY BANNED FROM COMING TO U.S TO SEE ME, BABY, RECORDING LP, SIGNING THE DOPEST ACTS THATS HITTIN 2010,” “I THINK IM READY,” and “JUNE 2010.”
  • The Depreciation Guild, a band made up of Pains of Being Pure at Heart members, just announced a new record. It’s called Spirit Youth and is due out May 18th on Kanine. They’ll be playing at The Triple Door on March 26th.

Photo by Christopher Nelson. Taken at She & Hims KEXP in-studio in the summer of 07.

Photo by Christopher Nelson. Taken at She & Him's KEXP in-studio in the summer of '07.

  • She & Him, aka Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward, are putting out their sophomore album, Volume Two, on Merge March 23rd. The first track off that record is below, via Pitchfork.

She & Him – Thieves (MP3)

  • Also coming out that day will be a live record from KEXP and personal favorite Bill Callahan called Rough Travel For A Rare Thing. Check out Drag City’s website for more info.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News, New York and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories