Thursday News Threads

  • We are sorry to report that after quite a lengthy battle with cancer, Gang Starr rapper Guru has passed away. He was only in his 40s [the exact date of his birth is in question.] Guru suffered a heart attack that left him in a coma from which he finally passed. RIP.

  • The Hold Steady are trying to build on the success of their past two albums. You can hear their latest effort, Heaven is Whenever, thanks to a stream over at NPR. It’s being released May 4th on Vagrant Records and there will be a corresponding tour featuring a 6-member band. Make sure to check them out May 29th over at the Gorge if you’re going to be at Sasquatch! this year.
  • Musicians and bands are getting in big on the movie business this week. According to this interview, Phoenix is going to score director Sofia Coppola’s new flick Somewhere, due out this fall. Additionally, Sonic Youth‘s website reports that they’re putting together the soundtrack to French director Fabrice Gobert’s Simon Werner a Disparu, called Lights Out in English. It’s playing at next month’s Cannes Film Festival. Finally, The Shins’ James Mercer and Modest Mouse‘s frontman Isaac Brock both contributed original music to 180° South, a documentary about adventurers in Patagonia from director Chris Malloy.
  • Courtney Love has announced that she is to stop using her “Love” moniker and revert back to her birth names Courtney Michelle, proclaiming, “Courtney Love is dead.” The Hole singer, who was born Courtney Michelle Harrison, says her decision to kill off the “Love” stage name is because “We’ve all decided we don’t like her anymore. We love her when she goes onstage, but I don’t need her in the rest of my life.”
  • Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder loves CoCo. On Monday night, during Conan O’Brien’s Seattle performance of his 30-city Legally Prohibited From Being Funny on Television Tour, Vedder made a surprise appearance and played two songs: “Rise,” from the excellent Into the Wild soundtrack, and “Oh CoCo,” a funny take on John Lennon’s “Oh Yoko.” Read more here.

  • Austin-based band Voxtrot are splitting up. In a long letter on the band’s website, frontman Ramesh Srivastava explained why the band is parting ways: “The career path of Voxtrot was truly one of long, simmering build, explosion and almost instantaneous decay,” Srivastava wrote. “Slowly, I am learning to replace any feelings of regret with positive memories of how amazing the whole thing was, and how it has, in an unexpected way, fortified my character.”
  • If you needed any more proof that every Billboard pop hits uses the same four chords, watch the following video:

  • Lo-Fi for the Dividing Nights is the name of a 10-track EP [why, by the way, is this not called an LP? 10 tracks???] that will accompany select copies of Broken Social Scene‘s new album titled Forgiveness Rock Record. According to the band’s official site, the “EP” will be thrown in with a pre-order of the new album and to those who purchase copies at independent record stores beginning on the May 4th release date.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News, New York and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories