Out This Week 6/1


This time, you can believe the hype. Treats, the sensational debut of Sleigh Bells, currently the most buzzed about band on the internet, is officially out today on CD. The duo — guitarist Derek Miller and singer Alexis Krauss — pack so many hooky beats and staggering riffs into their frenetic dance pop mix that critics who call the album “difficult” and “jarring” just can’t get enough anyway. And M.I.A.’s approval and, more so, her N.E.E.T. label backing have help catapult this band into the stratosphere, but not before blasting through your eardrums first!

Other releases that should be landing in your shopping cart this week come from New York’s Elk CIty, Ottawa’s The Acorn, and from some recognizable names from the not too distant past: Born Ruffians and The Futureheads. Former frontman of The Jam, Paul Weller, has put out his tenth solo album and his first in nearly two decades to feature contributions from Jam bass player Bruce Foxton. Two of our recent in-studio guests, Oldominion crew member JFK and the NYC/Boston-based group Hooray for Earth also have new releases out this week, and many more can be found on Largehearted Boy’s list.

You’ve had your vacation. Now, get out there and do your part to support independent music.

The Acorn – No Ghost (MP3)
from No Ghost on Bella Union

Big Tree – The Concurrence of All Things (MP3)
from Home(here) EP (self-released)

Born Ruffians – What to Say (MP3)
from Say It on Warp Records

Coltrane Motion – I Forgot There Was a War On (MP3)
from Hello Ambition! on Datawaslost

Common Prayer – Us vs. Them (MP3)
from There Is a Mountain on Big Potato Records/ Virtual Label

Elk City – Jerks on Ice (MP3)
from House of Tongues on Friendly Fire Recordings

The Futureheads – Struck Dumb (MP3)
from The Chaos! on Dovecote Records

Hooray for Earth – Surrounded By Your Friends (MP3)
from MOMO EP on Dovecote Records

JFK – High School Sweet Heart (MP3)
from Building Wings on the Way Down on Camobear/Taxidermy Records

Tift Merritt – Engine to Turn (MP3)
from See You on the Moon on Fantasy Records

Peggy Sue – Yo Mama (MP3)
from Fossils and Other Phantoms on Yep Roc

Quitzow – The Cut (MP3)
from Juice Water on Young Love Records

Sea Of Bees – Marmalade (MP3)
from Songs For The Ravens on Crossbill Records

Setting Sun – Make You Feel (MP3)
from Fantasurreal on Young Love Records

Sleigh Bells – Tell ‘Em (MP3) (courtesy of The Fader)
from Treats on Mom + Pop Music

Trees on Fire – Live Life (MP3)
from Organica on Drake Records

Paul Weller – 7&3 Is The Strikers Name
from Wake Up the Nation on Yep Roc

Wintersleep – Black Camera
from New Inheritors on RedEye

Woodsman – When the Morning Comes (MP3)
from Mystery Tape EP on Lefse Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories