Thursday News Wonderland

James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem

James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem
photo by James Bailey

  • Several independent music legends have been announced to showcasing their writing talents in next week’s issue of Five Dials, a free online literary journal. The issue will feature a poem from Ryan Adams, James Murphy from LCD Soundsystem will write a piece about his song “Losing My Edge,” and Kele Okereke from Bloc Party will be contributing a short story among others.

  • Owen Pallett is giving out a free EP in exchange for emails at Domino Records. The release is titled Lewis Takes Off His Shirt and features mostly remixes of the title-track, along with two other remixes. But hey, free music from Owen Pallett. Nothing wrong with that.
  • Johnny Marr from The Smiths and Hanz Zimmer performed the score for the new movie Inception at the premiere screening. At 8:40 minutes into this video, you can see the performance.
  • Upstate NY’s Ra Ra Riot are previewing another new song on their website from their forthcoming album, The Orchard, due August 24. Here’s a snippet of “Too Dramatic”:

  • Thrill Jockey band Oval has released a free EP that can be downloaded on their website. The new release is titled Ringtone.
  • Jenny and Johnny, aka Jenny Lewis and Johnathan Rice, are making the song “Big Wave” from their upcoming album, I’m Having Fun Now, available for free downloaded. The album does not come out til August 31, so this will have to tide fans over for now.

  • Belle and Sebastian debuted a new song in Helsinki, Finland, titled “I Didn’t See It Coming.” Check out the video of this new, uplifting sounding tune.

  • Best Coast, Kid Cudi, and Rostam Batmanglij from Vampire Weekend were sponsored by Converse to do a collaboration. The result: “All Summer.” This is the video for the song released on the website. Let’s hope they don’t get a “big head” from this sponsorship.

  • Morrissey will be reissuing his classic album Bona Drag, according to True To You Morrissey webzine. The release will be on CD and double-LP and feature six previously unreleased songs.
  • Liz Phair, as we noted last week on the Thursday music blog, recently released a new album off of her website. Most notably the album featured Phair rapping with a Bollywood theme. Now on her website, Phair is saying the album has lost her a record deal, her management, and many nights of sleep. We feel your pain, Liz, we feel your pain.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories