Thursday News Comes Alive

  • On their website, Belle and Sebastian have announced the title of their new album — Belle and Sebastian Write About Love — and are asking fans to write the name of the album somewhere in chalk or in “something non-permanent” and upload either the photo or video evidence of it on the band’s Flickr pool. From the amassed submissions, they’ll “choose some of the most scenic, artistic and elaborate ones and present the best submissions with a trophy of some sort!” Have fun with it!

  • The Arcade Fire debuted their new album The Suburbs at #1 on the Billboard chart. It’s a true win for the underdogs. The Village Voice cited that the album outsold LCD Soundsystem, The National, and M.I.A. combined. You’ve made us proud, Arcade Fire.
  • She & Him, the platonic indie love¬†balladeers, have released a new single and video for their song “Thieves.” Take a gander at the black and white picture show below:

  • Independent label gods Kill Rock Stars are putting out a new Elliott Smith compilation on November 2. Introduction to… Elliott Smith will be a greatest hits-esque compilation. A full track list can be found at Domino.
  • Ever wonder what the old Myspace glitter graphics would look like in music video form? Well let M.I.A. show you with her new music video for “XXXO.”

  • !!! have a new song out titled “The Most Certain Sure” from their new ¬†Strange Weather, Isn’t It LP and it is available for stream right now on Soundcloud.
  • Director Spike Jonze has a new short film streaming online that involves robots and love. Chocolate Industries is releasing the soundtrack for the film. The compilation features Animal Collective, Girls, The Lost Trees and various others.
  • This appears to be the week of new music videos. Tegan and Sara have also released a video for their song “Northshore”:

  • As previously noted on this blog, Beck has been a part in the formation of the soundtrack for the movie adaption of the graphic novel Scott Pilgrim vs. The World. Here is the first taste of what the sound will be like:

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories