Out This Week 11/30

As the year crawls to an end, the list of new releases each week gets shorter and shorter, with fewer and fewer worthwhile albums and more and more gift-tastic repackagings and reissues. Still, the persistent music fan will find a few new discoveries and solid purchases on record shelves this week. For instance, New Zealand band Surf City, who were our guests during our live broadcast from CMJ last year, have just released, Kudos, a blazing debut full-length that our Music Director, Don Yates, calls “a scorcher straight from the noisier side of classic New Zealand indie-pop (particularly the Clean and Tall Dwarfs), with a treble-heavy sound featuring ringing, distorted guitar drones, chugging rhythms, distant vocals and lots of sticky pop hooks.”

While Steve Wynn, former frontman of The Dream Syndicate, may be a prolific songwriter with a variety of projects, he has let his Miracle 3 hang for a while — for over five years, in fact. Their latest, Northern Aggression, is a raw and rocking return with a vengeance. Another long-running band, the San Diego post-rock collective Tristeza return this week with a new collection of sonic landscapes, and the Port Townsend, WA, bedroom project Solvents offers a stellar album of fuzzy lo-fi rockers that will appeal to those who thought Sparklehorse and Guided by Voices could use a bit more twang.

Of course, the big ticket items are still coming out for the holiday season, including this week the latest from The Black Eyed Peas, and Ron Isley (as in The Isley Brothers) returns with his first new album since being released from prison earlier this year for tax evasion. Musical guests T.I. and Aretha Franklin help the veteran soul singer on his first official solo album. But if it’s specifically holiday music you’re looking for, you needn’t go any further than The Boy Least Likely To‘s Christmas Special. You can find these and plenty of other new releases to discover on Largehearted Boy’s list and collected below:

Abby Gogo – Louder than Dreams (MP3)
from Abby Gogo on Double Phantom Records

The Black Eyed Peas – The Time (Dirty Bit)
from The Beginning on Interscope

The Boy Least Likely To – Happy Christmas Baby
from Christmas Special (self-released)

Zac Crouse – Waiting on the Wind (MP3)

from You Plan to do Nothing on The Little Caledonia Music Co.

Ron Isley – No More
from Mr. I on Def Jam

Jenocide – Beachball (MP3)
from Knee Deep EP (self-released)

Aidan Knight – Friendly Fires (MP3)
from Friendly Fires EP on Adventure Boys Club

Sleeping In The Aviary – You Don’t Have To Drive (MP3)
from Great Vacation! on Science Of Sound

Solvents – Forgive Yr. Blood (MP3)
from Forgive Yr. Blood on Bee Resin Records

Surf City – Kudos (MP3)
from Kudos on Fire Records

Tristeza – Newbury (MP3)
from Paisajes on Sanity Muffin

Steve Wynn & the Miracle 3 (MP3)
from Northern Aggression on Yep Roc Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories