Monday Morning News Fix

  • R.I.P. Broadcast’s Trish Keenan: We’re deeply saddened to report that Broadcast frontwoman Trish Keenan died last Friday. A statement on the Warp Records site details her recent battle with pneumonia which had left her in intensive care. Artists share some of their reactions here.
  • Trent Reznor wins Golden Globe: Last night, Nine Inch Nails main man Trent Reznor and co-composer Atticus Ross took home the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Score – Motion Picture for their score for the David Fincher film The Social Network. Find more on the story here.
  • Bring a lamp for The Head and the Heart: The recent Sub Pop signees are making their first official video with local filmmaker Christian Sorensen Hansen, and they’re asking fans to show up TONIGHT at The Living Room Bar in Seattle at 7:00 PM with a lamp. Yes, any kind of lamp, though most likely the more quirkier, the better. While the overall concept is a secret, you can bet that it’s not only the future that will be bright for this band. Find out more at Sound on the Sound.

  • New Video from Bon Iver’s S. Carey: Sean Carey, who sings and plays multiple instruments in Bon Iver, released his debut solo album as S. Carey this past fall. Two brothers from Sweden crafted a beautiful video to Carey’s “In the Dirt,” — now it’s the song’s official video! Watch below:

  • Ben Gibbard, No Age and others added to Noise Pop lineup: Several major acts have been added to San Francisco’s long-running Noise Pop music festival, which will take place February 22 through 27.  Ben Gibbard is expected to play a a rare solo performance of both Death Cab for Cutie and Postal Service material. Read more on the rest of the lineup here.
  • Soundgarden releasing first live album in March: In their 27 year history, Soundgarden have never released a live album — until now. The new collection Live on I5, will be released on March 22. The album collects 17 tracks recorded during the band’s 1996 West Coast tour, following the release of their last studio album Down on the Upside. Spin has the full track-listing here.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories