Out This Week 2/1

While this week’s list of new releases isn’t quite as robust as last week’s, you’ll find plenty of great music awaiting you at record stores today. Long-time KEXP listeners and new fans alike will be thrilled by the latest from Brighton group The Go! Team, who return with another frenetic, highly danceable, highly chantable musical gumbo of an album that blends rock, hip hop, funk, soul, and much more. Motor City rockers The Dirtbombs have always infused their garage sound with a heavy dose of classic R&B, but this time around they shift gears on their new album to reinvent seminal tracks from the Detroit techno scene. (KEXP’s own DJ El Toro writes about the album here.) And on North Mississippi Allstars‘s latest, and perhaps strongest to date, brothers Luther and Cody Dickinson pay tribute to their late father, the legendary producer Jim Dickinson, with a celebratory album of foot-stomping country-blues rock.

Also out this week is the first vinyl box set, curated by The Roots’ ?uestlove, collecting six classic albums by Afrobeat legend Fela Kuti. And Fire Records is taking on the herculean task of re-releasing the 30 plus albums by Howe Gelb and Giant Sand, who just marked their 25th anniversary last year. Other new releases worth checking out include the fifth album by professional skateboarder turned musician Tommy Guerrero, the second EP by Seattle indie pop group Ivan & Alyosha, a solo debut by Cracker/Camper Van Beethoven frontman David Lowery, and the return of Boy George!

There’s more to be found in record stores today. Before heading out, be sure to consult Largehearted Boy’s list and sample some highlights right here:

The Boxer Rebellion – Step Out Of The Car
from The Cold Still on Absentee Recordings

Boy George – Amazing Grace
from Ordinary Alien on Ultra Music

Bridges & Powerlines – Mirabell (MP3)
from Eve on CityBird Records

The Civil Wars – Barton Hollow (MP3)
from Barton Hollow on Sensibility Music

Cowboy Mouth – The Avenue (MP3)
from Mardi Gras EP on Valley Entertainment

The Dirtbombs – Sharevari
from Party Store on In The Red

Enjoy Your Pumas – Weight of the Circles (MP3)
from Commonality (self-released)

Giant Sand – Graveyard (MP3)
from Ballad Of A Thin Line Man on Fire Records

Giant Sand – Uneven Light Of Day (MP3)
from Storm on Fire Records

Giant Sand – Valley Of Rain (MP3)
from Valley of Rain on Fire Records

The Go! Team – Buy Nothing Day
from Rolling Blackouts on Memphis Industries Ltd.

Tommy Guerrero – Que S’est-il Passe (MP3)
from Lifeboats And Follies on Galaxia Records

Ivan & Alyosha – Glorify (MP3)
from Fathers Be Kind EP on Missing Piece Records

Junk Culture – Summer Friends (MP3)
from Summer Friends EP on Illegal Art

Fela Kuti – ?uestlove on Fela
from the Vinyl Box Set #1 (curated by ?uestlove) on Knitting Factory Records

Bobby Long – Who Have You Been Loving (MP3)
from A Winter Tale on ATO Records

David Lowery – The Palace Guards (MP3)
from The Palace Guards on 429 Records

Bob Marley & The Wailers – trailer
from Live Forever on UMe/Tuff Gong International

Mind Spiders – No Romance (MP3)
from Mind Spiders on Dirtnap Records

Katie Moore – Wake Up Like This (MP3)
from Montebello on Purple Cat Records

North Mississippi Allstars – Jellyrollin All Over Heaven
from Keys to the Kingdom on Songs of the South

John Shipe – Love Belongs to Everyone (MP3)
from Villain (self-released)

Still Flyin’ – Victory Walker (2 AM) (MP3)
from Neu Ideas on Ernest Jenning Record Co.

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories