Out This Week 3/1

This past week we’ve been thrilled to be the exclusive hosts of a live session with Beady Eye, the new project featuring most of the former members of Oasis — singer Liam Gallagher, guitarist Gem Archer, bassist Andy Bell and touring drummer Chris Sharrock. Fan reaction has been pretty amazing, proving just how much the void left by the folding of Oasis needed to be filled. KEXP’s own Cheryl Waters interviewed Liam and Andy about the band (listen here), and as she says, Different Gear, Still Speeding, available in the U.S. starting today, is a no-filler, positive, and even joyous album in a way. Oasis fans will quickly be saying, “Noel who?” Also topping the new releases this week, the latest from KEXP favorites DeVotchKa, who return with their fifth album, which sees the Denver band not totally abandoning their Old Word, gypsy folk tendencies but certainly focusing on a more contemporary sounds.

Lykke Li‘s latest is full of dark love songs haunted by the Swedish singer’s ethereal voice. Though certainly moodier than her 2008 debut, Wounded Rhymes, is no sulking downer but rather an intoxicating collection of dramatic torch songs. Perhaps confusing their already Canadian geography-challenged U.S. listeners, the Toronto area band The Rural Alberta Advantage are clearly on a roll with Departing, their sophomore album of stirring anthemic folk-pop. (RIYL Neutral Milk Hotel but thought they could have used more propulsive drumming.) Veteran roots-rocker Lucinda Williams returns to her former glory on Blessed, easily her strongest album since 1998’s Grammy-winning Car Wheels on a Gravel Road. And Puerto Rico’s garage-rockers Davila 666 expand on their 60’s-inspired sound with their excellent second album.

In stores today, you’ll also find the latest from Papercuts, containing more of the dreamy rootsy pop Bay Area songwriter Jason Quever does best. That release, on Sub Pop, is joined by labelmates Dum Dum Girls, who add to their fuzzy, girl group-inspired originals a cover of The Smiths’ “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” on their new EP. Apparently, even band leaders of hugely successful 10-person groups need a little alone time, as lead singer Alex Ebert takes a quick detour before heading back into the studio with Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros to create a true solo album. All of the songs on Alexander are composed and performed entirely by himself. Getting together with friends, though, is the spirit of two other projects out this week: The Baseball Project, the supergroup composed of Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey, Linda Pitmon, and Steve Wynn, whose release Volume 2: High and Inside comes out just in time for Spring Training, and the rootsy supergroup of sorts with Middle Brother, which joins John McCauley of Deer Tick, Matt Vasquez of Delta Spirit and Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes in effort to capture the magic of their 2010 SXSW debut performance.

You can get all of these new releases and more at your favorite record shops today. Check out Largehearted Boy’s list for a full roundup and be sure to sample these songs before you go:

Acrylics – Sparrow Song (MP3)
from Lives and Treasure on Friendly Fire Recordings

The Baseball Project – Don’t Call Them Twinkies (feat. Craig Finn) (MP3)
from Volume 2: High and Inside on Yep Roc

Alex Ebert – Truth (MP3)
from Alexander on Community Music

Beady Eye – The Roller
from Different Gear, Still Speeding on Dangerbird Records

Buried Beds – Breadcrumb Trail (MP3)
from Tremble The Sails (self-released)

Anna Calvi – Love Won’t Be Leaving (Live at The Luminaire, London)
from Anna Calvi on Domino Record Co.

Chamberlin – Fools (MP3)
from Bitter Blood on Roll Call Records/EMI

Codes in the Clouds – Look Back, Look Up (MP3)
from As The Spirit Wanes on Erased Tapes

Columboid – Statehoarders (MP3)
from We Were One on La Société Expéditionnaire

Davila 666 – Esa Nena Nunca Regreso (MP3)
from Tan Bajo on In The Red

Delhi 2 Dublin – S.O.S. (MP3)
from Planet Electric (self-released)

DeVotchKa – 100 Other Lovers (MP3)
from 100 Lovers on Anti-

Dum Dum Girls – He Gets Me High (MP3)
from He Gets Me High EP on Sub Pop

Easter Island – Proud (MP3)
from Better Things (self-released)

Jad Fair – The Best Ever (MP3)
from His Name Itself Is Music on Fire Records

Left Lane Cruiser – Giving Tree (MP3)
from Junkyard Speed Ball on Alive Naturalsound Records

Lykke Li – I Follow Rivers
from Wounded Rhymes on Atlantic

Maps & Atlases – Living Decorations
from Living Decorations on Barsuk

Middle Brother – Me Me Me (MP3)
from Middle Brother on Partisan Records

Papercuts – Do What You Will (MP3)
from Fading Parade on Sub Pop

The Rural Alberta Advantage – Stamp (MP3)
from Departing on Saddle Creek

Shipbuilding Co. – Made Out of Diamonds (MP3)
from Radios and Flying Birds on Greyday Records

Siriusmo – Einmal in der Woche schreien (MP3)
from Mosaik on Monkeytown Records

That Ghost – To Like You (MP3)
from Songs Out Here on twosyllable records

Tiger Bones – Kill Them (MP3)
from Go Over Here EP on Dedd Foxx

The Two Koreas – Midnight Brown (MP3)
from Science Island on Randy Vicar/Last Gang

Withered Hand – New Dawn (MP3)
from Good News on Absolutely Kosher

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories