Out This Week 4/12

It’s a huge week for new releases, and just in time for Record Store Day. The latest from Low, TV on the Radio, Elbow, Panda Bear, and The Feelies… yes, The Feelies are back after a 19 year break! Seattle band Beat Connection is re-issuing their debut EP officially and with bonus tracks, while local heavy rockers Red Fang are releasing their second LP. Also check out the latest from Atmosphere, Meat Puppets, Vivian Girls, Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit, Olympia band LAKE, and a new EP from Joan as Police Woman, plus debuts from British band Mazes and two duos, Jamaica (actually from France) and Bass Drum of Death from Mississippi.

There’s so much more to explore at record shops today, so get out there and get an early start on Record Store Day! Find more on Largehearted Boy’s list sample some great tunes right here:

Baby Teardrops – Smooth Sailing Ahead (MP3)
from X is for Love (self-released)

Bass Drum of Death – Young Pros (MP3)
from GB City on Fat Possum

Beat Connection – Space Vacation (MP3)
from Surf Noir EP on Tender Age/ Moshi Moshi

Bell X1 – Hey Anna Lena (MP3)
from Bloodless Coup on Yep Roc

Crystal Stilts – Through the Floor
from In Love With Oblivion on Slumberland

Elbow – One Day Like This
from Build a Rocket Boys! on Downtown/Cooperative Music

The Feelies – Should Be Gone
from Here Before on Bar/None

Figurines – Hanging From Above
from Figurines on The Control Group

Fredrik – Rites of Spring (MP3)
from Flora on The Kora Records

Garage A Trois – Shooting Breaks
from Always Be Happy, But Stay Evil on Royal Potato Family

Generationals ‒ Ten-Twenty-Ten (MP3)
from Actor-Caster on Park the Van

Holy Ghost! – Do It Again (MP3)
from Holy Ghost! on DFA

Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit – Codeine (MP3)
from Here We Rest on Lightning Rod Records

Jamaica – Jericho (MP3)
from No Problem on Cooperative USA/Downtown Music

Jeniferever – Dover (MP3)
from Silesia on Monotreme Records

Joan as Police Woman – The Magic (MP3)
from The Deep Field on Play It Again Sam

Jonny – Candyfloss
from Jonny EP on Merge

LAKE – Within/Without (MP3)
from Giving & Receiving on K Records

James Leg – Drowning in Fire (MP3)
from Solitary Pleasure on Alive Records

Little Scream – Cannons (MP3)
from The Golden Record on Secretly Canadian

Low – Especially Me (MP3)
from C’mon on Sub Pop

Mazes – Vampire Jive (MP3)
from A Thousand Heys on Fat Cat

Cass McCombs – County Line
from Wits End on Domino Record Co .

Del McCoury Band and the Preservation Hall Jazz Band – One More ‘Fore I Die (MP3)
from American Legacies on McCoury Music and Preservation Hall Recordings

Cameron McGill and What Army – I Don’t Believe in Magic (But All MY Friends Just Disappeared) (MP3)
from Is a Beast on Post-Important/Carrot Top

Meat Puppets – Damn Thing (download)
from Lollipop on Megaforce Records

Moonlight Towers – Heat Lightning (MP3)
from Day Is The New Night on Chicken Ranch

Agnes Obel – Brother Sparrow (MP3)
from Philharmonics on Play It Again Sam

Old Calf – Bonnie Cuckoo (MP3)
from Borrow a Horse on No Quarter

Panda Bear – Last Night at the Jetty (MP3)
from Tomboy on Paw Tracks

Rebirth Brass Band – Do It Again (MP3)
from Rebirth of New Orleans on Basin Street Records

Red Fang – Wires
from Murder the Mountains on Relapse Records

Skull Tape – Trans Anthro (MP3)
from The Invisible Hand and The Descent Of Man on Fine Records

Sonny and the Sunsets – I Wanna Do It (MP3)
from Hit After Hit on Fat Possum

D. Charles Speer & The Helix – Freddie’s Lapels (MP3)
from Leaving the Commonwealth on Thrill Jockey

Alexander Tucker – His Arm Has Grown Long (MP3)
from Dorwytch on Thrill Jockey

TV Ghost – Wired Trap (MP3)
from Mass Dream on In the Red

TV on the Radio – Nine Types of Light
from Nine Types of Light on Interscope

Vivian Girls – I Heard You Say (download)
from Share the Joy on Polyvinyl Records

Zomes – Openings (MP3)
from Earth Grid on Thrill Jockey

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


    Posted April 15, 2011 at 8:57 am | Permalink

    Really like the Lake and the Baby Teardrops ones! WithinWithout is sweet, Smooth Sailin’ is super catchy.. love their sound

    Are these being made available on vinyl for record store day?

  2. camer0nZ3R6
    Posted April 15, 2011 at 9:15 am | Permalink

    That TV ON THE RADIO stuff is great! Deep visuals on the video

    Yes, the Baby Tea Drops one is super good. Great sound

  3. O1GR35
    Posted April 17, 2011 at 4:15 pm | Permalink

    love that skull tape

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories