Out This Week 5/17

One of our many guests performing this Friday at the Sunset Tavern in Ballard during our annual Hood to Hood broadcast, Point Juncture, WA (actually from Portland) has a stunning new album out this week on local label Mt. Fuji Records. Our Music Director, Don Yates, says that the band’s “visceral take on their atmospheric indie-pop sound” on Handsome Orders makes for “their strongest set of songs to date.” You can buy the album now and come see them for free on Friday at 11AM at the Sunset.

Also out this week, longtime KEXP favorite Moby returns with something like his 10th studio album, Destroyed, paired with a book of photos, and composed during late night bouts with insomnia. The moody, woes-of-travel themed album is perfect for the rainy midnight hours here in the Northwest. Toronto band Austra picks up the tempo a bit with their slightly more danceable brand of synth-pop that’s yet still moody and even a little gothy. Thanks to ringing vocals by Katie Stelmanis, the band’s debut, Feel It Break, comes through like a cross between Florence + the Machine and The Knife. And Atlanta band Gold-Bears combine twee pop melodies with noisy, punky distortion on their debut LP, Are You Falling In Love?.

Other new releases come illustrator, animator and songwriter Chad VanGaalen; LA-based rocker Ben Harper; Bay Area experimental garage-rockersThee Oh Sees; and a unique paring of Grammy winning producer Danger Mouse and Italian film composer Daniele Luppi, who together create an epic movieless soundtrack while enlisting Jack White and Norah Jones to guest on vocals.

In stores today, you’ll also find new releases by more artists teaming up with others or striking out on their own. 13 & God, the collaboration between The Notwist and Themselves (plus Dax and Antonionian from Subtle), return with their first album in six years. Former Rilo Kiley guitarist Blake Sennett has restarted his project The Elected, with assistance from a few friends including Bright Eyes’ Mike Mogis. Their third album comes out today. And The Clientele’s Alasdair MacLean joins Lupe Núñez-Fernández of Pipas and enlists a handful of other friends to record the romantic chamber pop debut of Amor de Días. Appropriately enough, they’ll be touring with dream-pop duo Damon & Naomi, who also have a new record out this week.

You can find all these and more, including a 4-disc “Bootleg Collection” if Iggy Pop recordings, on Larghearted Boy’s list. But first, take your time and sample all of the new releases collected here. You’re bound to find some new discoveries for your pre-summer playlist!

13 & God – Old Age (MP3)
from Own Your Ghost on Anticon

Amor de Días – Bunhill Fields (MP3)
from Street of the Love of Days on Merge

Austra – Lose It
from Feel It Break on Domino

Bachelorette – Blanket (MP3)
from Bachelorette on Drag City

Bahamas – Already Yours (download)
from Pink Strat on Brushfire Records

Big Scary – Autumn (MP3)
from The Big Scary Four Seasons (self-released)

Zachary Cale – Hello Oblivion (MP3)
from Noise of Welcome on All Hands Electric

Company of Thieves – Modern Waste (MP3)
from Running From A Gamble on Wind-Up Records

Damon & Naomi – Walking Backwards (MP3)
from False Beats and True Hearts on 20/20/20

Danger Mouse and Daniele Luppi – Two Against One (feat. Jack White)
from Rome on Capitol Records

The Elected – Babyface
from Bury Me In My Rings on Vagrant

Falcon – Say Goodbye (MP3)
from Disappear on Fergusound

Ryan Garbes – Boys Are Back (MP3)
from Sweet Hassle on Hello Sunshine

Sergent Garcia – Mi Son Mi Friend (download)
from Una y Otra Vez on Cumbancha

Girls in Trouble – We Are Androgynous (MP3)
from Half You Half Me on JDUB Records

Glasvegas – Euphoria, Take My Hand
from Euphoric /// Heartbreak \\\ on Columbia

Glorie – Lazy Day (MP3)
from Glorie on Makeshift Music

Gold-Bears – Record Store (MP3)
from Are You Falling In Love? on Slumberland Records

Ben Harper – Rock N’ Roll Is Free
from Give Till It’s Gone on Virgin Records

Levon Helm – Ophelia
from Ramble at the Ryman on Vanguard Records

Let’s Wrestle – Dear John (MP3)
from Nursing Home on Merge

Moby – The Day
from Destroyed on Mute Records

Metal Mother – Billy Cruz (MP3)
from Bonfire Diaries on Post Primal

Miracle Fortress – Miscalculations (MP3)
from Was I the Wave on Secret City

Mickey Newbury – An American Trilogy (MP3)
from Frisco Mabel Joy (remastered) on Drag City

Planningtorock – Doorway (MP3)
from W on DFA Records

Point Juncture, WA – Boston Gold (MP3)
from Handsome Orders on Mt. Fuji Records

The Sanctuaries – Heaven Is a Mountain (MP3)
from Annette on Mecca Lecca

Screens – Shudder (MP3)
from Dead House on What Delicate Recordings

Thee Oh Sees – I Need Seed (MP3)
from Castlemania on In The Red

Chad VanGaalen – Sara (MP3)
from Diaper island on Sub Pop

Witches – Creature of Nature (MP3)
from Forever on Bakery Outlet Records

Yellow Dogs – Gastronomic Meal (MP3)
from The Kennel EP (self-released)

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories