Monday News Roundup

  • Today, Apple becomes the third technological superpower to announce their cloud-based music service, fittingly titled iCloud. The new service will let iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch owners stream music from their personal iTunes libaries on their various devices. iCloud is free, but for $24.99 users can purchase iMatch, a utility that scans your music library (full of old 128kbps MP3 CD rips) and replaces it with higher-quality 256kbps AAC digital files, provided the music is in the iTunes Store. iCloud is the only heretofore announced cloud service that is free, and it’s not limited to music: iCloud also allows its users to share applications, photos, documents, calendars, and virtually anything else on Apple devices. Users who sign up automatically get 5GB of free storage. Purchased music and applications are already stored in the iTunes Store, so those files do not count against the storage. Viva la revolution.

  • Following their successful reunion show at last month’s Sasquatch! Music Festival, 90’s alt-rockers Archers of Loaf are continuing their revival campaign by announcing reissues of all four of their studio albums, accompanied by a North American tour that, for now, culminates in a September 9th show at Seattle’s own Neumo’s venue. No word on new songs has yet been received, although the reissue of Icky Mettle will include expanded and remastered material, including early b-sides. The album will be available digitally, on CD, and on limited edition blue vinyl. Preorders are already live over at Merge.
  • Zach Condon’s Beirut project has been slowly waking from its slumber, with a new tour and a newly announced album (no release date yet). They’ve even played some new songs live, but today’s the first day we can hear a studio version of their new single. The song’s “East Harlem,” and is available for purchase at all forthcoming Beirut shows. If he’s not stopping in your town, you can still hear the track streaming on Soundcloud, via One Thirty BPM.
    Beirut – “East Harlem”
  • Melancholy folk singer Marissa Nadler‘s new self-titled was entirely funded through Kickstarter, an impressive achievement for the Boston native, considering she’s yet to break into the mainstream. But Marissa Nadler should change all that, finding her in top form. We’ve already heard lead single “Baby, I Will Leave You In The Morning,” but now you can stream the album in its entirety over at NPR. Trust us, it’s well worth the time.
  • M83 frontman Anthony Gonzalez has been elusive concerning details about his band’s follow-up to 2008’s gorgeous Saturdays=Youth, but in a recent interview with Spin, Gonzalez let loose some information about his project’s upcoming full-length. Some of the juiciest tidbits: the release will be a double album, interspersing short ambient/acoustic interludes between longer pop-driven tracks, featuring guests like Zola Jesus and Beck. Morgan Kibby, Gonzalez’s singing partner on Youth will also be on the album and subsequent tour, though her parts will reportedly be toned down, and Gonzalez’s own singing will be amplified. A release date, title, and tracklist have yet to be announced.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories