Out This Week 6/7

You may have noticed that our Summer Membership Drive is going on right now at KEXP, so we’d like to take this opportunity to remind our supporting members of one of the many services that your financial support helps provide… FREE MUSIC!

Yes, you certainly do hear plenty of that on our airwaves and streaming live on our webstream, but we also provide regular features on the KEXP Blog, like this one, to help keep you current with new music and give you the tools for you to discover even more music on your own. In features like Out This Week, we hunt down the latest MP3s and other downloads, plus many interesting new videos, for you sample at your leisure or load into your portable devices.

Just look at this week’s list, which contains some of the bands you’ve heard from before, like Black Lips, Battles, Arctic Monkeys, Fucked Up, and We Are Augustines (containing band members from Pela). There may be a few artists here you’ve heard about but haven’t listened to yet, like maybe City and Colour, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., or Frank Turner. You’ll also find plenty of newer bands that could be the “next big thing” or just your “new favorite thing”, like maybe Cults, Givers, The Wooden Birds, or Hooray for Earth. New songs by international artists like Orchestre Poly-Rythmo and Jóhann Jóhannson allow you to widen your palette, while you can relive past glories with a selection of veteran artists who have either reunited, disbanded or just continue to soldier on, like Atari Teenage Riot, Le Tigre, and New York Dolls.

And that’s just in this week’s new releases. Each week, we offer the latest new tunes provided by labels, artists and promoters, and point you in the direction to other blogs, like Largehearted Boy, where you can discover even more great music. All of this, though, wouldn’t be possible without your support. Help us continue to provide you with lots and lots of FREE MUSIC with a donation of any amount.

And now… enjoy the music….

Almost Free – Don’t Bother Me Now (Adultescent) (MP3)
from In/Out (self-released)

Arctic Monkeys – Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair
from Suck It and See on Domino Record Co.

Atari Teenage Riot – Activate! (MP3)
from Is This Hyperreal? on Dim Mak

Battles – Ice Cream (featuring Matias Aguayo)
from Gloss Drop on Warp Records

Matt Bauer – Blacklight Horses (MP3)
from The Jessamine County Book of the Living on Crossbill Records

Black Lips – Modern Art (MP3)
from Arabia Mountain on Vice

Brute Heart – Satellite (MP3)
from Lonely Hunter on Soft Abuse

City and Colour – Fragilebird (MP3)
from Little Hell on Vagrant

The Coathangers – Trailer Park Boneyard (MP3)
from Larceny & Old Lace on Suicide Squeeze

Cults – Abducted
from Cults on Columbia

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. – Morning Thought
from It’s a Corporate World on Warner Bros.

Dawes – If I Wanted Someone (download)
from Nothing Is Wrong on ATO Records

Ryan Driver – Everything Must Spin (MP3)
from Who’s Breathing? on Fire Records

Ford & Lopatin – Emergency Room
from Channel Pressure on Software/Mexican Summer

F**ked Up – The Other Shoe (MP3)
from David Comes To Life on Matador

Givers – Up Up Up (MP3)
from In Light on Glassnote Records

Hooray For Earth – No Love (MP3)
from True Loves on Dovecote Records

Hospital Ships – Love or Death (MP3)
from Lonely Twin on Graveface

Jessica 6 – Prisoner of Love (featuring Antony Hegarty) (MP3)
from See the Light on Peacefrog Records

Jóhann Jóhannson – There Is No Safe Side But The Side Of Truth (MP3)
from The Miners’ Hymns on FatCat

Ladybug Transistor – Clutching Stems (MP3)
from Clutching Stems on Merge

Le Tigre – Deceptacon
from Who Took The Bomp? Le Tigre On Tour DVD on Oscilloscope Laboratories

Sondre Lerche – Private Caller
from Sondre Lerche on Mona Records

Chris Mills – All Our Days and Nights (MP3)
from Heavy Years 2000-2010 on Ernest Jenning Record Co.

New York Dolls – Fool For You Baby
from Dancing Backward In High Heels on 429 Records

Brian Olive – Left Side Rock (MP3)
from Two of Everything on Alive Naturalsound

Oneida – Horizon (edit) (MP3)
from Absolute II on Jagjaguwar

Lindi Ortega – Angels
from Little Red Boots on Last Gang Records

The Poison Control Center – Dracula’s Casket (MP3)
from Stranger Ballet on Afternoon Records

The Postelles – Hold On (download)
from The Postelles on +1 Records

The Rosebuds – Woods (MP3)
from Loud Planes Fly Low on Merge

Frank Turner – I Am Disappeared
from England Keep My Bones on Epitaph

Tom Vek – World of Doubt
from Leisure Seizure on Cooperative Music USA/ Downtown

The Warped 45s – Grampa Carl (MP3)
from Matador Sunset on Pheromone Recordings

We Are Augustines – Chapel Song (download)
from Rise Ye Sunken Ships (self-released)

The Wooden Birds – Two Matchsticks (MP3)
from Two Matchsticks on Barsuk

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment

  1. Adrien
    Posted June 11, 2011 at 7:55 am | Permalink

    Hospital Ships’ Lonely Twin is amazing!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories