Monday News Roundup

  • The week begins with a sad morsel of news from this past weekend’s Glastonbury Festival, during which 56-year-old Christopher Shale, constituency aide to the British Prime Minister and leader of the West Oxfordshire Conservative Association, was found dead in a portable toilet. According to The Guardian, Shale’s body was discovered at 8:45 Sunday morning in the festival’s backstage area, and no cause of death has yet been determined.
  • In lighter news, Muppets fans have more to be excited about than just a new film (out November 23rd). Fans should gear up to purchase Muppets: The Green Album, a compilation that will feature the likes of My Morning Jacket, Andrew Bird, Sondre Lerche, Alkaline Trio, and The Airborne Toxic Event covering Muppet classics. Peep the tracklist below, and check out the trailer for the new Muppets movie starring Jason Segel.

1. OK Go, ‘Muppet Show Theme’
2. Weezer and Paramore’s Hayley Williams, ‘Rainbow Connection’
3. The Fray, ‘Mahna Mahna’
4. Alkaline Trio, ‘Moving Right Along’
5. My Morning Jacket, ‘Our World’
6. Amy Lee, ‘Halfway Down the Stairs’
7. Sondre Lerche, ‘Mr. Bassman’
8. The Airborne Toxic Event, ‘Wishing Song’
9. Atreyu’s Brandon Saller and Good Charlotte’s Billy Martin, ‘Night Life’
10. Andrew Bird, ‘Bein’ Green’
11. Matt Nathanson, ‘I Hope That Something Better Comes Along’
12. Rachael Yamagata, ‘I’m Going to Go Back There Someday’

  • Arcade Fire and Spike Jonze’s collaborative short film Scenes from the Suburbs is coming bundled with the group’s deluxe reissue of 2010’s Grammy-winning third album The Suburbs. But if you don’t want to wait until August 2nd, Mubi has made the entire thing available to watch right here.
  • Seattle hip-hop group Shabazz Palaces have already been lauded for their talents by local weekly The Stranger, who granted them the first-ever Music Genius Award for 2010. Now, it seems that others are taking notice, most recently Pitchfork, who’s awarded their full-length Black Up with an 8.8/10 and a shiny new “Best New Music” tag. Head over here to read the review.
  • While Jeff Mangum continues to expand his tour, Fire Records has announced that they are going to reissue the first Neutral Milk Hotel 7-inch, Everything Is, and the band’s debut album, On Avery Island. Everything Is will strike August 8th, unchanged from its vinyl release, while Avery will land on shelves August 22nd, in both CD and vinyl formats. The vinyl version will be available in separate red or yellow varieties.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories