Out This Week 7/26

The pop stars and heavy hitters continue their mid-summer vacations, allowing some lesser known but still very exciting new releases to shine through. Perhaps the most anticipated release this week comes from Little Dragon, the Gothenburg-based group led by Swedish-Japanese singer Yukimi Nagano, who create dark, dancy electropop and are at their catchiest on Ritual Union, their third studio album. Nashville rockers The Features continue their smart, hard-to-pin-down sound on their third album, and the first release from Kings of Leon’s new label, Serpents and Snakes; Wilderness is an often blazing set that ranges from western twang to laid back pop to rollicking sing-alongs. East Londoners Fair Ohs debut with an album of lo-fi Afropop-tinged psych-rock that is more tropical than labelmates Ganglians and trashier than either Woods or Dinosaur Feathers but will appeal to fans of any of those bands or of the entire Lefse and Woodsist rosters. And Brooklyn hardcore punks Cerebral Ballzy take a cue from their forefathers (Suicidal Tendencies, Black Flag, Bad Brains, etc.) but strive to be snottier than anyone before, leaving all manner of body fluids on stages after singing about puking, jumping turnstiles and beer. Their self-titled debut — 12 tracks in less than 20 minutes — is classic punk.

You’ll find all of these plus the debut of Rogue Wave’s Zach Rogue’s stripped down, vocal-heavy side project, Release the Sunbird, in record stores today. Check Largehearted Boy’s list for a full run-down, and sample these tracks before heading out.

Blind Atlas – Mary Anne (MP3)
from Iron Wall on Fallen Swine Records

Boy + Kite – Think In Stereo (MP3)
from Go Fly (self-released)

Cerebral Ballzy – Insufficient Fare
from Cerebral Ballzy on Williams Street Records

Dex Romweber Duo – Jungle Drums (MP3)
from Is That You In The Blue? on Bloodshot Records

Fair Ohs – Summer Lake (MP3)
from Everything Is Dancing on Lefse Records

The Features – Content (MP3)
from Wilderness on Serpents and Snakes/Bug Music

Inc. – Swear (MP3)
from 3 EP on 4AD

Little Dragon – When I Go Out
from Ritual Union on Peacefrog

Little Horn – Bridges Break (MP3)
from Twelve on Whale Heart Records

Mr. Lewis and the Funeral Five – Alcohol (Kinks cover) (MP3)
from Delirium Tremendous on Chicken Ranch Records

Locksley – The Whip
from Locksley on Feature Records

Metronomy – The Look
from The English Riviera on Big Beat / Because Music

Debbie Neigher – Evergreens (MP3)
from Debbie Neigher (self-released)

Release the Sunbird – Always Like The Son (download)
from Come Back To Us on Brushfire Records

Tidelands – Holy Grail (MP3)
from If… (self-released)

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories