Tuesday News Catchup

Now that everyone’s good and recovered from last weekend’s phenomenal Capitol Hill Block Party, it’s time to catch up on what we missed while we were out forgetting about our day jobs:

  • Canadian singer-songwriter Feist has finally announced the follow-up to her breakout 2007 LP The Reminder. The new one’s called Metals, and will bring 12 tracks of Feistiness to your ears on October 4th. The record was recorded in Toronto and Big Sur with Björk producer Valgeir Sigurðsson. SPIN Magazine has managed to snag the titles of five songs from the album: “Anti-Pioneer”, “The Undiscovered First”, “Woe Be”, “Cicadas and Gulls”, and “Comfort Me.”

  • Nirvana‘s Nevermind celebrates its 20th anniversary in September, commemorated by a reissue campaign. The release date is September 27 (pushed back from September 19) and includes three different versions: Remastered, Deluxe, and Super Deluxe. The Remastered edition is exactly what it sounds like, simply the album with remastered audio. The two-CD Deluxe edition goes further, featuring studio and live B-sides, demos, boombox recordings, and unreleased BBC recordings. Super Deluxe includes all of that plus the “Devonshire Mixes,” a version of Nevermind produced and mixed entirely by Butch Vig (as opposed to the final version, where Andy Wallace manned the mixing board). Also included: a live recording of a 1991 Halloween show at Seattle’s own Paramount Theatre on CD and DVD and a 90-page book. In addition to the CDs, the album will also be reissued digitally and on 4-LP 180-gram vinyl. The Paramount Theatre concert will also be sold separately digitally, and on DVD and Blu-ray.
  • Right freaking now, indie blog Stereogum is offering Stroked: A Tribute to Is This It, tribute album to the Strokes‘ 2001 debut LP Is This It for free on their site. Contributors include KEXP favorites like Peter Bjorn and John, Owen Pallett, and Austra. Full tracklist below.

    01 Peter Bjorn and John: “Is This It”
    02 Chelsea Wolfe: “The Modern Age”
    03 Frankie Rose: “Soma”
    04 Real Estate: “Barely Legal”
    05 Wise Blood: “Someday”
    06 Austra: “Alone, Together”
    07 The Morning Benders: “Last Night”
    08 Owen Pallett: “Hard to Explain”
    09 Heems: “New York City Cops”
    10 Deradoorian: “Trying Your Luck”
    11 Computer Magic: “Take It or Leave It”

  • Possibly due to the internet’s unstoppable power of leaking albums, the digital release date for Beirut’s new album The Rip Tide has been pushed up to August 2nd, four weeks earlier than planned. The physical release date remains August 30th, and there’s been no communication with the band’s camp as to the reason for the move.
  • Panda Bear‘s Tomboy has only been on shelves for three months, but there’s already a deluxe reissue coming. October 31 will see Paw Tracks issuing a 4-LP box set of Tomboy including the album in full, the “single” mixes of selected tracks, unreleased instrumental/a cappella tracks, “The Preakness” (Panda’s song for Animal Collective‘s sneaker mixtape), and a 16-page booklet. The album will be limited to 5000 copies, and 100% profits go to the American Cancer Society. Head on over to P4K for the tracklist.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Local Music, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories