Thursday News Roundup

  • On Facebook, art be damned… or banned, at least. Yesterday, MSN reported that the iconic Nirvana album cover for their breakthrough, Nevermind, was removed from Facebook for violating the website’s terms, which state that “Facebook does not allow photos that attack an individual or group, or that contain nudity, drug use, violence or other violations of the Terms of Use.” The album cover was posted on, and them removed from, the group’s official fan page to commemorate the album’s 20th anniversary.

  • It has been made apparent that legendary San Diego punk rockers Hot Snakes will be reuniting, at least temporarily. In December they are scheduled to play the All Tomorrow’s Parties Nightmare Before Christmas Festival in the UK, and band co-leader John Reis has hinted that more reunion dates could be in the works. Cross your fingers that they’ll schedule a few on the West Coast! For now, check out this awesomeness:

  • Mysterious British indie rockers WU LYF (pronounced woo-life), have announced a North American tour this fall that will include a stop at The Crocodile in Seattle on November 19. Their debut release Go Tell Fire To The Mountain has been one of the most talked-about albums of 2011, but WU LYF has refused to do a number of interviews and haven’t released much information about themselves over the Internet. Their music is primal, tribal, slightly psychedelic, and should make for an amazing show at The Crocodile. For more info, click here.
  • Neon Indian‘s new album Era Extraña is set to be released September 13. Listen to “Fallout” here.

Neon Indian - Era Extraña

  • Kurt Vile and Woods, both present on Friday of this past weekend’s Capitol Hill Block Party, have released a split 7″ that is being sold on Kurt Vile’s current tour. Sadly, both bands seemed to have passed through Seattle for good this year, but there is still plenty of time to catch them in several of our country’s other fine cities. For touring schedules and more info on the 7″, click here.
  • Click here to listen to “Maniac,” a new song from Clap Your Hands Say Yeah‘s forthcoming LP Hysterical. I am highly in favor of this.
  • And finally, LCD Soundsystem‘s “All My Friends” as performed by LEGOs:

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories