Monday News Roundup

  • Soul singer Mavis Staples recently appeared at this year’s Pickathon, but her star power continues to impress, this time bringing a guest onstage in Arcade Fire‘s Win Butler, for San Francisco’s Outside Lands Festival. Butler joined Staples’ band on guitar and backing vocals for a rendition of “The Weight.” Watch video from the concert below:

  • Wavves, aka Nathan Williams, continues to fill his ranks with talent, announcing a new EP featuring collaborations with Best Coast and Fucked Up after releasing 2010’s King of the Beach with the late Jay Reatard‘s former band.. The EP’s called Life Sux and will be available digitally September 20th, as well as on CD and vinyl exclusively at independent record stores. Wavves self-produced the EP at Infrasonic Sound in L.A. The collaboration with Best Coast will entail Williams’ hubby Bethany Cosentino on vocals and bandmate Bobb Bruno on guitar solo for the track “Nodding Off,” while Fucked Up singer Damien Abraham and drummer Jonah Falco will appear on “Destroy.”
  • Ex-Queens of the Stone Age bassist Nick Oliveri was arrested last month for felony domestic violence following a face-off with a SWAT team in LA, in a situation that where Oliveri allegedly locked himself and his girlfriend in his apartment as she was packing her belongings to leave (he also allegedly struck her). Now it’s a month later, and Oliveri faces 15 years in prison after being charged with four felonies. According to TMZ, the charges include “two counts of possession of a controlled substance with a firearm, two counts of possession of a controlled substance, and one misdemeanor count of resisting, obstructing or delaying a peace officer.” QOTSA frontman Josh Homme famously ejected the bassist from the band in 2005 due to Oliveri’s past domestic abuse transgressions.
  • Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks are back with a new album, following Pavement‘s reunion tour last year. Mirror Traffic, the band’s last LP recorded with Sleater-Kinney and Wild Flag drummer Janet Weiss, hits August 23rd, but if you can’t wait that long, the whole thing’s streaming over at NPR. If lead single “Senator” is any indication, it should be in the running for album of the year.
  • David Lynch made headlines last year with his muted electropop single “Good Day Today,” and now it looks like his solo album is ready for the masses. Dropping November 8th, the album was written, produced, and performed by Lynch with help from engineer Dean Hurley, who contributes guitar and drums on a few tracks. The LP also features the vocals of Karen O, lead singer of Yeah Yeah Yeahs, on a track called “Pinky’s Dream.” If that song title makes you a little uneasy, the Lynchian album name will make you quiver in your boots: no joke, it’s called Crazy Clown Time.
  • Singer-songwriter legend Elliott Smith would’ve been 42 this past Saturday, and in commemoration of the departed musician’s birthday and legacy, an anonymous group of artists tasked themselves with the cleanup and touch-up of the iconic “Figure 8″ mural in Silver Lake. The mural was updated with a stencil of the singer, as well as repainting over vandalism. While the mural’s been touched up before, this is the first major overhaul that’s been done in the past three years. Check out pictures here.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories