Out This Week 8/16

Our guests, live at noon today, Gold Leaves, are just one of the many excellent artists releasing albums today. Gold Leaves is the new project of Arthur & Yu’s Grant Olsen, who took the last four years to create, what our Music Director, Don Yates, calls “a gorgeous set of psych-tinged, autumnal folk-pop with nostalgic melodies and melancholy lyrics.” Gold Leaves, in fact, set the perfect summer evening vibe during their set last Friday as part of KEXP and Seattle Center’s Concerts at the Mural series, so no need to wait for the leaves to fall — grab this one now. An equally treasured album comes from Fool’s Gold, who also played as part of the Concerts at the Mural series, and whose new album moves away from the African-Hebrew hybrid of their self-titled debut, instead toward more worldly, tropical-flavored dance-pop. Philadelphia’s The War on Drugs return with their second album as well, continuing their “intriguing blend of seemingly disparate elements (atmospheric shoegazer guitar drones, chugging Velvet Underground and motorik prog-rock rhythms, twinkling New Wave synths, Dylanesque folk-rock melodies and vocal mannerisms) that manage to cohere into some powerful, epic rock jams.” New Zealand band Cut Off Your Hands also drop their sophomore effort today. Hollow is “a darker, more mature take on their catchy post-punk sound that’s heavily steeped in the ’80s sounds of the Smiths, Echo & the Bunnymen and the Cure, with a gray-streaked sound featuring jangly guitars, crooning vocals, melancholy lyrics and wistful pop melodies.”

Other new releases this week come from The Jim Jones Revue, who combine “50s-inspired garage-punk combining primal distorted guitar riffs, pounding Jerry Lee piano, a pummeling rhythm section and raging vocals into fiery blasts of adrenaline-fueled rock ‘n’ roll”; Bottle Rockets, the Brian Henneman-fronted Missouri roots-inspired band, who turn their normally rocking sound down to a respectable, acoustic level; and Mister Heavenly, the “doom wop” collective comprised of indie rock veterans Nick Thorburn (Islands/The Unicorns), Ryan Kattner (Man Man), and Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse). Mister Heavenly, by the way, will be live on KEXP next Wednesday, August 24, at noon.

And that’s not all! Check out Case Studies, the debut solo release by Dutchess & The Duke’s Jesse Lortz; the latest from NYC dance group Hercules & Love Affair; another solo album by the other half The Fiery Furnaces, Matthew Friedberger (his sister Eleanor had an album out last month); the physical release (finally) of Yellow Ostrich; the final album by Her Space Holiday; a single by Seattle’s Grave Babies; and the sixth album by Eugene, OR, doom metal band YOB.

You’ll find all of these and more in record stores today. Gaze over Largehearted Boy’s list and sample the tunes collected here before heading out.

Appetite – Fiery Ring (MP3)
from Scattered Smothered Covered on Crossbill Records

Bad Sports – Teenage Girls (MP3)
from Kings Of The Weekend on Dirt Nap Records

Bottle Rockets – Smokin’ 100s Alone (MP3)
from Not So Loud: An Acoustic Evening With… on Bloodshot Records

Case Studies – The Eagle, or the Serpent (MP3) (courtesy of Pitchfork)
from The World Is Just a Shape to Fill the Night on Sacred Bones

Cut Off Your Hands – You Should Do Better (MP3) (courtesy of My Old Kentucky Blog)
from Hollow on Frenchkiss Records

Fool’s Gold – Street Clothes (MP3)
from Leave No Trace on IAMSOUND

Matthew Friedberger – Comforts of the Coffin (MP3)
from Cut It Out on Thrill Jockey

Gold Leaves – Cruel/Kind (MP3)
from The Ornament on Hardly Art

Grave Babies – Pleasures
from “Pleasures” b/w “Deathwish” single on Hardly Art

The Great Book of John – Robin Hood (MP3)
from The Great Book Of John on Communicating Vessels

Her Space Holiday – Ghost in the Garden (MP3)
from Her Space Holiday on No More Good Ideas

Hercules and Love Affair – My House
from Blue Songs on Moshi Moshi

Hotel Lights – Falling Down (MP3)
from Girl Graffiti on Bar None

The Jim Jones Revue – High Horse (MP3)
from Burning Your House Down on Punk Rock Blues Records

Mister Heavenly – Bronx Sniper (MP3)
from Out of Love on Sub Pop

SeƱor Flavio – El Secreto
from Nueva Ola on Nacional Records

Pink Skull – Bee Nose (MP3)
from Psychic Welfare on Rvng Intl.

Speed the Plough – Sea of Tranquility (MP3)
from Shine on Dromedary Records

Sundress – Derelict (MP3)
from Sundress EP (self-released)

Astrid Swan – Box Elder (Pavement cover) (MP3)
from Hits (Pavement For Girls) on Soliti

Trophy Wives – You’re Like a Bad Song (MP3)
from Old Scratch on Latest Flame

The War on Drugs – Come to the City (MP3)
from Slave Ambient on Secretly Canadian

The Weather Station – Everything I Saw (MP3)
from All of It Was Mine on You’ve Changed Records

Yellow Ostrich – Whale (MP3)
from The Mistress on Barsuk

Yob – Prepare The Ground (MP3)
from Atma on Profound Lore Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories