Monday Music News

  • Last night the MTV Video Music Awards gathered to congratulate a lot of the usual suspects — Lady Gaga, Beyonce, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Brittney Spears — and create as much spectacle as possible. Highlights include Jay-Z and Kanye West‘s “special surprise performance” (just after Jay-Z’s wife, Beyonce, announced on the red carpet that she was with child), Foo Fighters winning Best Rock Video, and a tribute to Amy Winehouse. Perhaps the biggest surprise (or not) was Tyler, the Creator winning the award for Best New Artist. About as far away from the Beebs as you can get, Tyler brought the entire Odd Future crew on-stage for his bleep-filled acceptance speech: “I’m excited as fuck now, yo. I wanted this shit since I was nine. About to cry.” Good luck trying to figure out his advice “to all the kids watching”:

  • Oh, to have been in the smoke cloud that came up with this collaboration: Wu-Tang Clan’s GZA performed his 1995 hit “Liquid Swords” backed by stoner/slacker noise rockers Wavves on Fuel TV’s The Daily Habit on Thursday night. Watch it here:

  • Speaking of both the VMA’s and Wavves, Nathan Williams and the band debuted a new song called “I Wanna Meet Dave Grohl” just in time for MTV’s awards show and in anticipation of their new EP, Life Sux, due September 20. Listen to it now:

Wavves – I Wanna Meet Dave Grohl (MP3)

  • Whether or not Nathan Williams actually did get to meet Dave Grohl, his bandmate and Wavves bass player Stephen Pope certainly didn’t, as he was kicked out of the VMA’s for marijuana possession.
  • This past weekend was also time for two of the UK’s biggest festivals, Reading and Leeds, with headliners Muse, Pulp and The Strokes among many others (including a surprise set by The Joy Formidable. Head over to NME for full coverage. Here are The Strokes performing The Cars’ “Just What I Needed” with Pulp’s Jarvis Cocker at Reading:

  • For those of you still waiting for that Neutral Milk Hotel reunion that my never happen, you can at lest sate yourself for a while with a new box set collecting the band’s entire catalog on seven slabs of vinyl and including 15 previously unreleased tracks. The whole thing, plus two posters, can be bought on the band’s website for a reasonable price. Starting November 22, you can purchase the unreleased tracks digitally as well.
  • And don’t count Glen Campbell out just yet. The country legend, who had recently announced that he had Alzheimer’s and whose new album, Ghost On The Canvas, he claimed would be his last, told The Guardian this past weekend that if he “ran into five or six good songs, [he] would make another.”
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories