Out This Week 8/30

Live at KEXP Volume Seven, the latest in our annual series collecting live performances recorded exclusively for KEXP, hits stores today. On this disc, you will find one-of-a-kind, exclusive live tracks from some of this year’s greatest artists, some well known, others just discovered. All the bands on this compilation have donated their performances to support KEXP.

On Live at KEXP Volume Seven, you’ll hear popular artists like Grammy nominee Florence + The Machine, local favorites like Mad Rad, and up and coming artists like Sharon Van Etten.

Track Artist Song
1. Florence + The Machine Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)
2. My Goodness C’mon Doll
3. Wire Moreover
4. Fitz & The Tantrums Breakin’ The Chains Of Love
5. Mad Rad Underwater
6. Destroyer Song for America
7. James Blake Limit To Your Love
8. Jónsi Boy Lilikoi
9. Susana Baca Bendíceme
10. The Walkmen Juveniles
11. Wild Flag Romance
12. Capsula Magnetic Brain
13. Steve Wynn & The Miracle Three Amphetamine
14. Aurelio Martinez Laru Beya
15. The Head and the Heart Lost In My Mind
16. The Tallest Man On Earth A Field Of Birds
17. Sharon Van Etten One Day

You can pick up Live at KEXP Volume Seven online today at Amazon and directly from KEXP or from these Seattle area retailers:

Caffé Vita, Sonic Boom, Silver Platters, Everyday Music, Easy Street, Pagliacci, PCC, Macrina Bakery, University Bookstore

Check out a sample from Live at KEXP Volume Seven right now!

Mad Rad – Underwater (Live at KEXP) (MP3)
from Live at KEXP Volume Seven

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Plus, there’s a lot more in record stores today…

We’ve long been fans of Beirut — in fact, they were included on Volume Three of our Live at KEXP CD series — and they’ve returned after four years to follow up 2007’s The Flying Club Cup with The Rip Tide, which our Music Director, Don Yates, calls “the warmest, most inviting Beirut recording to date,” featuring “relatively straightforward orchestral-pop arrangements with piano, accordion, ukulele, stately horns and sweeping strings that place the emphasis on the album’s brighter, more upfront melodies along with Condon’s velvety croon and increasingly introspective lyrics.” Other new albums getting lots of airplay on KEXP come from Sub Pop band Male Bonding, whose second album Don Yates calls “a consistently strong set of punchy power pop with reckless tempos, fuzzy ‘90s-indie guitars, hazy vocals and strong pop melodies;” Northern Mali’s Tinariwen with another stellar album of Saharan desert blues; and X frontman John Doe with whose latest is full of “roots-tinged indie-rock ranging from punkish rockers to some poignant ballads.”

Other albums out this week worth putting in your shopping basket right beside Live at KEXP Volume Seven come from Blood Orange, who is really Devonte Hynes (a.k.a. Lightspeed Champion), roots recording artist and producer Ry Cooder, Miami garage-pop trio Jacuzzi Boys, NYC’s Cymbals Eat Guitars, 70’s inspired roots-reggae group 10 Ft. Ganja Plant, and two songwriting veterans, Robert Earl Keen and country legend Glen Campbell, who is recently announced that this would be his final album after being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s.

10 Ft. Ganja Plant – My Roots
from Shake Up the Place on I-Town/ROIR

Afrobeta – Nighttime (MP3)
from Under The Streets on DoIT Music Group

Beirut – East Harlem (MP3)
from The Rip Tide on Pompeii Records

Blood Orange – Sutphin Boulevard
from Coastal Grooves on Domino Record Co.

Glen Campbell – A Better Place
from Ghost On The Canvas on Surfdog Records

Ry Cooder – No Banker Left Behind
from Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down on Nonesuch

John Craig & The Weekend – The Only Way (Neck) (MP3)
from Numbers on Loophole Records

Cymbals Eat Guitars – Rifle Eyesight (MP3)
from Lenses Alien on Barsuk

Dirty Beaches – Lord Knows Best
from Badlands on Zoo Music

John Doe – Don’t Forget How Much I Love You (MP3)
from Keeper on Yep Roc

Andrea Echeverri – Yo (MP3)
from Dos on Nacional Records

Halloween, Alaska – Empire Waist (MP3)
from All Night the Calls Came In on Amble Down Records

Hella – Headless
from Tripper on Sargent House

Jacuzzi Boys – Cool Vapors (MP3)
from Glazin’ on Hardly Art

Robert Earl Keen – promo
from Ready for Confetti on Lost Highway

Tommy Keene – Deep Six Saturday (MP3)
from Behind the Parade on Second Motion Records

The Latebirds – Fearless (MP3)
from Last of the Good Ol’ Days on Second Motion Records

Male Bonding – Tame the Sun (MP3)
from Endless Now on Sub Pop

Oy Vey – Idiot (MP3)
from Botanical Curiosity (self-released)

The Static Jacks – Mercy, Hallelujah
from If You’re Young on Fearless Records/Fenway Recordings/Nobody People

Stereo MCs – Far Out Feeling
from Emperor’s Nightingale on !K7 Records

Tasseomancy – Healthy Hands (Will Mourn You) (MP3)
from Ulalume on Out of This Spark

Tinariwen – Tenere Taqqim Tossam (MP3)
from Tassili on Anti Records

Total Babes – Be So True (MP3)
from Swimming Through Sunlight on Old Flame Records

Butch Walker & The Black Widows – Summer of 89 (MP3)
from The Spade on Dangerbird Records

The Wandas – Forever and Ever (MP3)
from The Wandas (self-released)

Devon Williams – Your Sympathy (MP3)
from Euphoria on Slumberland Records

Wise Blood – Penthouse Suites (MP3)
from These Wings EP on Dovecote Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories