Out This Week 9/13

Remember how last week there was only a very small handful of new releases waiting for you on record store shelves? Well, this week’s it’s the opposite. You’re going to need a handtruck to help you move the stack of CD’s you’ll be buying this week! Among the most anticipated new albums is the self-titled debut of Wild Flag, who performed at KEXP’s SXSW broadcast during SXSW and who consist of veteran Riot Grrrls Janet Weiss and Carrie Brownstein (Sleater-Kinney), Rebecca Cole (The Minders) and Mary Timony (Helium). Wild Flag, though, is no 90’s throwback but rather a fresh take on a rocking sound. Also, out this week, The Drums‘ second album adds new twits and turns to their jangly 50’s-meets-80’s sound. Portland group Blitzen Trapper are more at home with 70’s country rock on their sixth album, which our Music Director, Don Yates, says is filled with “summery, hook-filled songs with concise arrangements driven by fuzzy electric guitars, rollicking piano, dirty slide guitar, warm harmonies and mostly uptempo rocking rhythms, and fleshed out with occasional harmonica, banjo and more.” On the third album from St. Vincent, songwriter Annie Clark pares down some of the “baroque touches of her first two albums” to create “her most visceral recording to date.” And San Francisco band Girls follow up their excellent EP from last year with their second LP of adventurous, dreamy, often lovelorn pop, while fellow Bay Area rockers Wooden Shjips release their first actual studio-recorded album, which add “greater clarity and mass to the band’s trippy, psych-inspired blend of heavy, distorted guitars, droning organ lines and hypnotic rhythms.”

But those are only some of the highlights from the arm’s length list of new releases out this week (check Largehearted Boy for the full list!). You’ll also want to pick up the latest from Blind Pilot, who performed some of the new songs live on KEXP last weekend during MusicfestNW, and Robbers On High Street, who will perform live on KEXP next Wednesday, 9/21, at 9:30am, plus the latest from lovable indie-pop duo Mates of State, the debut of new solo project CANT from Grizzly Bear’s Chris Taylor, the followup to Neon Indian‘s much lauded 2009 album, Psychic Chasms, an EP from new Sub Pop signees Memoryhouse, and the formal debut of Das Rascist, whose new album, Relax, doesn’t at all tone down the hi-jinx of their previous mixtapes.

Also, worth checking out in record stores today are the latest releases from bands you’ve heard and seen on KEXP: Trombone Shorty, Grouplove, Milagres, Mogwai, Toro Y Moi, Ladytron, The Gourds, Tom Vek, Lydia Loveless, and so many others. If only we had time to sing the praises of them all!

So get crackin’, everyone! You’ve got a lot to pick up this week!

ANR – New Armor (MP3)
from Stay Kids (Deluxe Edition) on 10k Islands

Astronautilis – Dimitri Mendeleev (MP3)
from This Is Our Science on Fake Four Inc.

Barn Owl – Turiya (MP3)
from Lost in the Glare on Thrill Jockey

Big Harp – Everybody Pays (MP3)
from White Hat on Saddle Creek

Blind Pilot – Keep You Right (download)
from We Are the Tide on Expunged Records

Blitzen Trapper – Love the Way You Walk Away (MP3)
from American Goldwing on Sub Pop

Kathryn Calder – Who Are You? (MP3)
from Bright and Vivid on File Under Music

CANT – Answer
from Dreams Come True on Terrible Records / Warp Records

Caveman – Thankful (MP3)
from CoCo Beware (self-released)

Das Racist – Michael Jackson
from Relax on Greedhead Music

The Drums – Money (MP3)
from the 2011 album Portamento on Frenchkiss

Girls – Vomit (MP3)
from Father, Son, Holy Ghost on True Panther Sounds

The Gourds – I Want It So Bad (download)
from Old Mad Joy on Vanguard Records

Grouplove – Colours (MP3)
from Never Trust a Happy Song on Canvasback/Atlantic

Mason Jennings – No Relief
from Minnesota on Stats & Brackets / Thirty Tigers

The Kooks – Is It Me
from Junk of the Heart on Astralwerks

Ladytron – White Elephant
from Gravity the Seducer on Nettwerk

Lydia Loveless – Can’t Change Me (MP3)
from Indestructible Machine on Bloodshot Records

Laura Marling – A Creature I Don’t Know (a short film)
from A Creature I Don’t Know on Ribbon Music/Domino

Marmoset – Peace in the Valley (MP3)
from Limited Edition Marmoset LP Box Set on Joyful Noise Recordings

Mates of State – Maracas (MP3)
from Mountaintops on Barsuk

Memoryhouse – Quiet America (MP3)
from The Years EP on Sub Pop

Milagres – Glowing Mouth (MP3)
from Glowing Mouth on Kill Rock Stars

Neon Indian – Heart : Attack
from Era Extrana on Mom + Pop

Pajama Club – These Are Conditions (MP3)
from Pajama Club on Lester Records

Robbers On High Street – Hey Unbelievers (MP3)
from Hey There Golden Hair on Tijuana Gift Shop.

Shimmering Stars – I’m Gonna Try (MP3)
from Violent Hearts on Hardly Art

Slow Club – Two Cousins
from Paradise on Moshi Moshi

St. Vincent – Surgeon (MP3)
from Strange Mercy on 4AD

Teen Daze – Surface (MP3)
from A Silent Planet on Waaga Records

Toro Y Moi – All Alone (download)
from Freaking Out EP on Carpark Records

Trombone Shorty – Encore (ft. Warren Haynes)
from For True on Verve Forecast

Tom Vek – Aroused (MP3)
from Leisure Seizure on Island/Cooperative Music/Downtown

Wild Flag – Romance (MP3)
from Wild Flag on Merge

Jonathan Wilson – Desert Raven (MP3)
from Gentle Spirit on Bella Union Records

Wooden Shjips – Lazy Bones (MP3)
from West on Thrill Jockey

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories