Monday News Roundup

photo by Jeremy Farmer

  • Radiohead has started to make headlines again this year, with the announcement of their appearance on a one-hour special edition of the popular comedy-satire series The Colbert Report. Colbert himself has said of the show, “I look forward to meeting the Radioheads and leveraging their anti-corporate indie cred to raise brand awareness for my sponsors.” In other news, “the Radioheads” are also set to serve as the musical guest for the 9/24 season premiere of Saturday Night Live, and will be playing two shows at New York’s Roseland Ballroom on September 28 and 29.
  • Soulful crooner James Blake has released an acclaimed album, played sold-out events worldwide, and collaborated with Bon Iver, but that hasn’t stopped the young Brit from constantly upping his game. Last night, Blake played in L.A. at the Music Box, where he played a new song from his Enough Thunder EP, entitled “Once We All Agree.” The EP’s not out till the 10th of October but you can catch video of Blake’s live version of the song below.

  • Electronic music luminaries Daft Punk haven’t released a proper album since 2005, but now fans can get a first listen at an early recording from 1994 called “Drive.” The track has been released on the Soma Records 20 Years three-disc compilation, out today. Pitchfork has the stream of the seven minute jam, check it out there.
  • Foo Fighters are generally known as the “nicest dudes in rock,” but they showed a little teeth by ambushing a protest group representing the universally reviled Westboro Baptist Church. The band rolled in on a flat-bed truck, decked out in full-on goofy country get-ups, and played lively rendition of their tolerance anthem “Keep it Clean (Hot Buns).” Check out video of the awesome counterprotest below.

  • Ryan Adams is gearing up to headline Seattle’s City Arts Fest on October 21st at Benaroya Hall, but if you’re anxious for the show, tide yourself over with live acoustic video from Adams’ Pax-Am studio. Below, witness Adams performing the title track from his new album Ashes & Fire.

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories