Out This Week 9/20

Okay, it’s not quite the mega-list like last week’s roundup of new releases, but there’s plenty to choose from this week too. Topping the list is Pearl Jam Twenty, the motion picture soundtrack to the Cameron Crowe-directed concert film/insider band profile chronicling the rise and resilience of this quintessential Seattle band. Thousands of hours of footage have been concentrated into this definitive bio pic inspired by The Kids Are Alright, Jeff Stein’s movie on The Who. The PJ20 soundtrack is a sweet two-disc set with one disc gathering live highlights recorded around the world over the last twenty years, and the other collecting “Rarities and inspiration…”, meaning lots of demos, instrumentals, and less iconic but more intriguing live selections. It’s all nicely packaged with lots of photos, notes and an intro by Cameron Crowe, all tailored to the PJ fans that may already have everything!

Among other notable new releases this week is the latest from Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, their first album after a four-year hiatus and their third overall. Our Music Director, Don Yates, calls it “their most unabashedly pop-oriented recording to date, combining jangly guitars, sweeping synths, propulsive rhythms, dark lyrics and Alec Ounsworth’s nasal vocals (which sound smoother than ever here) into euphoric New Waveish rockers spiked with soaring pop hooks and anthemic choruses.” In other words, it was worth the wait! You’ll also find a new album of orchestral folk-pop by Seattle’s Cataldo, a new project debut from former Port O’Brien frontman Van Pierszalowski called WATERS, and another debut of dark, lo-fi beach-pop from England’s Veronica Falls.

The Jim Jones Revue‘s 2010 album Burning Your House Down is finally available in the U.S. this week, along with new albums from Megafaun, Nurses, and Tammar. You’ll also find new EPs from Swedish songwriter Jens Lekman, who returns after a bit of a delay from his much acclaimed previous LP, and post punk-influenced noise-pop from San Francisco band Weekend.

There are a lot of other great bands here, including Portland bands White Orange and Richmond Fontain, Espers’ singer Meg Baird, The Jayhawks, Tori Amos, Vancouver The Pack A.D., supergroup SuperHeavy, and a lot more. Check out Largehearted Boy’s list for a more thorough list, but not before sampling these new releases first:

Tori Amos – Carry
from Night of Hunters on Deutsche Grammophon

AZITA – September (MP3)
from Disturbing the Air on Drag City

Meg Baird – The Finder (MP3)
from Seasons on Earth on Drag City

Bio Ritmo – La Verdad (MP3)
from La Verdad on Electric Cowbell Records

Cataldo – Rock of Calvary (featuring Laura Veirs) (MP3)
from Prison Boxing on Red Pepper Records

CAVE – Adam Roberts (MP3)
from Neverendless on Drag City

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – Same Mistake (MP3)
from Hysterical (self-released)

Halloween, Alaska – Dance By Accident (MP3)
from All Night The Calls Came In on Amble Down Records

Lisa Hannigan – A Sail (MP3)
from Passenger on ATO

Katie Herzig – Free My Mind (MP3)
from Waking Sleep on Downtown/Mercer Street

IfIHadAHiFi – Arson, You Let Me Down (MP3)
from Nada Surf + 3 EP on Greyday Records/Latest Flame Records

The Jayhawks – Behind the scenes…
from Mockingbird Time on Rounder Records

The Jim Jones Revue – Elemental (MP3)
from The Jim Jones Revue on Punk Rock Blues Records

Jens Lekman – An Argument with Myself (MP3)
from An Argument With Myself EP on Secretly Canadian

Chris Letcher – Phone Booth (MP3)
from Spectroscope on 2 Feet Music

Megafaun – State/Meant (MP3)
from Megafaun on Hometapes

Nurses – Trying to Reach You (MP3)
from Dracula on Dead Oceans

The Pack A.D. – Sirens (MP3)
from Unpersons on Mint Records

Pearl Jam – Better Man (Madison Square Garden – New York, NY 5/21/201)
from Pearl Jam Twenty Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on Monkeywrench/Columbia

Richmond Fontaine – Lost in the Trees
from The High Country on El Cortez Records

Social Climbers – Chicken 80 (MP3)
from Social Climbers on Drag City

Southerly – Without A Cause (MP3)
from Youth on Greyday Records

SuperHeavy – Miracle Worker
from SuperHeavy on Universal Republic

Tammar – The Last Line (MP3)
from Visits on Suicide Squeeze

Veronica Falls – Bad Feeling (MP3)
from Veronica Falls on Slumberland Records

WATERS – For the One (MP3)
from Out In The Light on TBD Records

Weekend – Hazel (MP3)
from Red EP on Slumberland Records

White Orange – Dinosaur Bones (MP3)
from White Orange on Made In China

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories