Thursday News Roundup

photo by Sandra Lee-Phipps

  • If you’ve been wondering if anything ever came of Atoms For Peace, the Thom Yorke/Flea collaboration that debuted at Coachella in 2010, Yorke recently divulged that the group is about to finish recording an album, the release date of which is still up in the air. Yorke also announced that Radiohead will actually be touring in 2012. Hallelujah! Read more about both developments via Rolling Stone here.
  • There’s some new Nirvana material to share. Click here to listen to previously unreleased recordings of “Breed,” “On A Plain,” and “Smells Like Teen Spirit.” All three tracks will be released as part of Universal’s Nevermind 20th Anniversary re-issue package next Tuesday. Also included will be a DVD containing Nirvana’s 1991 Halloween show at The Paramount. From that performance, here’s “Territorial Pissings”:

  • It has been announced that Neil Young has been working on a memoir that will be released via a subsidiary of Penguin Books. The book is tentatively titled “Waging Heavy Peace,” and is sure to be a must read, especially considering how the president of the publisher noted that he was “astounded at [Young’s] memory for detail.”
  • More new WU LYF! Don’t forget, they’ll be at the Crocodile on November 19.
  • Arctic Monkeys have recently released a new video for their latest single and album title track, “Suck It and See,” featuring drummer Matt Helders as the (anti-)hero in a sort of rockabilly Mad Max kind of world of sex, violence and motorcycles. Check it out:

  • Also coming to town in the near future will be the Dum Dum Girls, who will be playing at Neumos on October 9 with the Crocodiles. You can stream the new Dum Dum Girls album I Will Be in its entirety right here.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories