Out This Week 9/27

Another great week for new releases… Wilco tops the must-buy stack with their latest, The Whole Love, the band’s eighth album and first to be released on their own label, dBpm Records, with distribution by Anti- Records (in other words, it’s all very creator-controlled). Some critics are calling it their best since 2002’s Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Our own Music Director, Don Yates, calls it “a wide-ranging, often-thrilling set encompassing edgy prog-rock, bouncy power-pop, atmospheric ballads, melodic folk-pop and more, with a richly textured sound featuring a colorful variety of instrumentation on expansive songs with often surprising arrangements.” Sub Pop gropu Dum Dum Girls‘ second album is out today, and it’s an impressive leap toward a more confident and produced sound (but not overly so). Lyrics often dealing with frontwoman Dee Dee’s recent loss of her mother are counterbalanced with brighter, muscular melodies. Boise, Idaho’s Trevor Powers debuts his project, Youth Lagoon, on Fat Possum Records. Don Yates calls the the 22-year old’s effort “a remarkable album of lo-fi bedroom dream-pop, featuring a heavily reverbed sound that accents the frailty and loneliness in his high, boyish vocals on a consistently stunning set of songs, with many of them beginning as stark and intimate piano-based ballads before gradually building into huge-sounding, intricately detailed, emotionally cathartic epics of anthemic pop.” Nice. Also, Berlin-based DJ/producer Apparat, a.k.a. Sascha Ring, returns with his fourth album, “a more song-oriented approach that focuses on atmospheric, deeply emotive electro-pop ballads.”

As their songs prove, The New Division aren’t afraid to wear their influences on their sleeves (or in their name). Channeling New Order, Joy Division, Depeche Mode and others, the Riverside, CA, band sounds a bit at times like other 80’s synthpop imitators like Cut Copy on their debut LPShadows, which also hits stores today.

You can also fill your shopping cart with other excellent new releases from charming Canadian songwriter Dan Mangan, country chanteuse Nikki Lane, old-school cowpunks The Mekons, Sweden’s electronic duo Pallers, Crayon Fields’ frontman Geoffrey O’Connor (playing solo), Icelandic songwriter Sóley, Brooklyn’s Twin Sister, and many others.

Check out Largehearted Boy’s list for the full list and check out these great track here:

Alessi’s Ark – Wire (MP3)
from Time Travel on Bella Union

Kasey Anderson and The Honkies – The Wrong Light (MP3)
from Heart Of A Dog on Red Parlor Records

Apparat – Ash/Black Veil (MP3)
from Devil’s Walk on Mute

Big Troubles – Misery (MP3)
from Romantic Comedy on Slumberland Records

Pieta Brown – I’m Gone (MP3)
from Mercury on Red House Records

Dominant Legs – Hoop of Love (MP3)
from Invitation on Lefse Records

Dum Dum Girls – Bedroom Eyes (MP3)
from Only in Dreams on Sub Pop

Extra Classic – Give Them the Same (MP3)
from Your Light Like White Lightning, Your Light Like A Laser Beam on on Manimal Vinyl

Gem Club – Breakers (MP3)
from Breakers on Hardly Art

The Gift – Race Is Long (MP3)
from Explode on La Folie

Nikki Lane – Gone, Gone, Gone (MP3)
from Walk of Shame on IAMSOUND

Dan Mangan – Post-War Blues (MP3)
from Oh Fortune on Arts & Crafts

The Mekons – Geeshie (MP3)
from Ancient & Modern on Bloodshot Records

Mocean Worker – Shooby Shooby Do Yah!
from Candygram For Mowo! on MOWO! Inc.

The New Division – Opium (MP3)
from Shadows on Division 87 Records

Geoffrey O’Connor – Whatever Leads Me To You (MP3)
from Vanity Is Forever on Chapter Music

Pallers – Come Rain, Come Sunshine (MP3)
from Sea of Memories on Labrador Records

Radiation City – Park (MP3)
from The Hands That Take You on Tender Loving Empire

Sleeper Agent – Get It Daddy
from Celebrasion on Mom + Pop

Sóley – I’ll Down (MP3)
from We Sink on Morr Music

Twin Sister – Bad Street (MP3)
from In Heaven on Domino Record Co.

Van Hunt – Eyes Like Pearls (MP3)
from What Were You Hoping For? on Thirty Tigers

Vanish Valley – Races (MP3)
from Get Good on Hard Bark

VHS or Beta – I Found a Reason (MP3)
from Diamond & Death on Krian Music Group/Chromosome Records

Wilco – Born Alone
from The Whole Love on dBpm Records

Youth Lagoon – Montana (MP3)
from The Year of Hibernation on Fat Possum

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories