Monday News Roundup

  • November 21st will see the release of Kate Bush‘s new album, 50 Words for Snow, her second release this year including Director’s Cut, wherein she reworked select songs from her back catalog. Now you can listen to 50 Words a whole week early, as the album’s streaming in its entirety over at NPR.
  • Brian Eno recently appeared on The Colbert Report to chat about his new installation and other projects. The highlight of the episode didn’t come until post-interview, however, when Colbert brought out R.E.M.‘s Michael Stipe and the trio indulged in an a cappella version of “Lean on Me.” Watch the video below.

  • Barcelona’s premiere music festival Primavera Sound has announced the first few artists for next year’s lineup, and first seven are nothing to cough at: Björk, Codeine, Guided By Voices, Jeff Mangum, Neon Indian, Other Lives, and Yo La Tengo. The fest will take place May 30 – June 3.
  • The new Los Campesinos! album hits shelves tomorrow in the U.S., so get pumped with this new video for the title track “Hello Sadness,” directed by Casey Raymond and Ewan Jones Morris. It features spaghetti, getting dragged along the floor, and people in masks, so it’s obviously awesome.

  • Male Bonding and EMA make a name for themselves by making heart-tugging lo-fi noise pop songs, and now the two will be brought together for a split single featuring two Nirvana covers. Bonding will do “Aneurysm,” a B-side from the Nevermind sessions, while EMA will rock out to “Endless, Nameless,” the album’s hidden track. The single will be released on colored vinyl, out in January.
  • Wrapping up today’s headlines are a pair of new album announcements, the first from Scottish sad rockers The Twilight Sad. Their new album will be called No One Can Ever Know and will be released February 7th. Says guitarist Andy McFarlane, “We wanted to be a lot more spontaneous, get outside our comfort zone – not to fall back into repeating what we’ve done previously.” Also available in February? The new album from German duo Mouse on Mars, their first since 2006’s Varcharz. It’s called Parastrophics and will hit the U.S. February 28th.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment

  1. sin
    Posted November 16, 2011 at 6:42 pm | Permalink

    I love jon stewart

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories