Friday Music News

photo by Josh Bis

  • The Flaming Lips are as busy as ever. After embarking on an epic quest to release new music every single month of 2011, it doesn’t look like the Lips are about to stop now that 2012 has rolled around. In fact, this month may be their busiest yet. According to the Twitter of Wayne Coyne, the band is currently recording a cover of “Smoke on the Water” for a Deep Purple tribute album that will benefit suffering animals. The band is also readying yet another collaboration 12″ release, this time featuring the psychedelic Dallas band New Fumes. The Flaming Lips just recently released a short run of another collaboration project with the Plastic Ono Band. This release featured Yoko Ono singing a Flaming Lips Christmas classic “Atlas Eets Christmas”. If you can follow them down the rabbit hole without losing your sanity, keep up with the Flaming Lips’ shenanigans this year. It looks like it will be another eventful one.

  • The Kills released a new music video yesterday for Blood Pressures track “The Last Goodbye”. The video features band members Alison Mosshart and Jamie Hince in a crammed photobooth. The video is directed by actress Samantha Morton Helms.

  • The Decemberists will release their first live album in March. It will be a double CD featuring songs from numerous shows spreading from April to August 2011. While the tour itself was in support of their latest LP The King Is Dead, the live album will features the best of their entire discography. You can view the full track listing here (via Pitchfork).
  • New York dreampop band School of Seven Bells have posted a new song “Lafaye” from their upcoming album Ghostory. This will be their third album and the follow up to 2010’s much loved Disconnect From Desire. The single will be available for purchase January 17th and the album will be out February 28.

  • New music is also up on Soundcloud by Brooklyn psych-rockers Bear In Heaven. The song “A Reflection of You” comes from their upcoming April 3 release I love You, It’s Cool

  • Hooray! A new album from Santigold is finally underway and has been postmarked for release this Spring. Santigold has been working with numerous people on the album including Switch (of Major Lazer), Dave Sitek (of TV on the Radio), and Nick Zinner (of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs). The album, titled Master of My Make-Believe, will deal with society and its obsession with a reality TV romanticism of the goings-on in the world. Read more at Idolator.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories