Friday Music News

photo by Eliot Glazer

  • If you are confused by the above picture, don’t fret. Ben Gibbard stopped by the annual San Francisco Sketchfest this week to do a piece with Bobcat Goldthwait. Gibbard played guitar behind Goldthwait as he did his best impression of Bono singing “YMCA”. It is quite random, but the picture is priceless.
  • New music released today by Denver pop band Tennis. Their new album, Young & Old, will be released on Valentine’s Day. “My Better Self” is the third official release from the new album. Listen to it below:

  • 2012 is shaping up to be the best year of the 90s ever. Ben Folds tweeted earlier today that a reunion Ben Folds Five record is “happening fo sho”. What more needs to be said? Hopefully, the band will also do a reunion tour so we can all jam out and sing along to “One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces” again. Didn’t think you’d get to do that, did you?
  • In more nearly 90s news, Michael Stipe has posted an online follow up to the controversy over the banned Perfume Genius Youtube clip. “You were born of the 21st century, now act like it.” Strong, but necessary words from the former god of indie music. You can read the full response at his Tumblr. If you are unfamiliar with this whole debacle, read more at Pitchfork.
  • If last year’s Smiths and Orange Juice reissue/box sets weren’t enough for you, more new wave discographies are on their way. On April 2, Virgin will release Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings 1972-1982. The Roxy Music collection will have all 8 studio albums, as well as high resolution audio versions of the albums on DVD, whatever that means. Check out the full tracklist for the collection here.
  • There goes the neighborhood. Controversial west coast rappers Odd Future are coming back to Seattle on April 11th. They played Showbox at the Market in the Fall of 2011, and now, they are back for more playing Showbox Sodo. Odd Future will be releasing a new group compilation mixtape in March, and new music from many of the individuals members of the collective, including Tyler the Creator, Frank Ocean, and Mellowhype, is due out later this Spring.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories