Out This Week 3/13

The week’s list of new releases is somewhat short, considering that most labels, bands, and music fans in general are currently gathered in Austin for SXSW. (Be sure to check out KEXP’s broadcast starting Wednesday!) But you’ll still find enough great new music to lure you into record stores today, including the second album from Spoek Mathambo out on Sub Pop. On Father Creeper, the South African DJ/producer twists rock, electronica and rap with traditional African into a futuristic collage. Speaking of old sounds made new, Vince Clarke and Martin Gore, two founding members of Depeche Mode, have reunited after 30 years to form VCMG, inspired by Clarke’s recent interest in techno. Composed entirely via email, Ssss marks a minimalist turn for the long-productive songwriters (Clarke with Erasure and Gore with Depeche Mode), who trade lyricism for purified dance beats. Memphis band Lucero returns with Women & Work, which our Music Director, Don Yates, calls “another first-rate set of soul-steeped, barroom roots-rock with Stones-ish guitars, Memphis soul horns, barrelhouse piano and Ben Nichols’ gravelly singing.” And Seattle’s palindrome loving TacocaT make their Hardly Art debut with the smart pop-punk EP, Take Me to Your Dealer.

Other new releases you’ll want to check out today include the latest from dark, driving indie-rock band Freshkills, a followup to the well-received debut of UK duo The Ting Tings, and even more rollicking American rock and roll from San Diego’s Delta Spirit. Give a listen to the songs below and discover some new favorites:

Delta Spirit – California
from Delta Spirit on Rounder

Freshkills – Positive Vibes (MP3)
from Raise Up the Sheets on Bat Rabies Alert/The End Records

The Hussy – Undefined (MP3)
from Weed Seizure on Tic Tac Totally

Lucero – Sometimes (MP3)
from Women & Work on ATO Records

Say Anything – Burn a Miracle
from Anarchy, My Dear on Vision Records

Spoek Mathambo – Put Some Red on It (MP3)
from Father Creeper on Sub Pop

Tacocat – Spring Break-Up (MP3)
from Take Me To Your Dealer on Hardly Art

The Ting Tings – Hang It Up
from Sounds From Nowheresville on Columbia

Tiger! Tiger! – Perfume of Despair
from Cut Them Where They Bleed on Chicken Ranch Records

Tribes – Sappho
from Baby on Fairfax Recordings/Universal Republic Records

VCMG – Single Blip (MP3)
from Ssss on Mute Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

  • Listen Live:

    High Quality AAC+
    Excellent for PC, Mac, iPhones/iPads, Android Devices, tables, iTunes, Winamp, and VLC. High quality audio, low bandwidth

    MP3 Stream
    Best for computers running OSX or Windows with iTunes or the open source VideoLAN Player installed

  • Breaking New Ground Together!

    Help Build Our New Home!

    The University of Washington Logo KEXP is an
    affiliate of the
    University of Washington
  • iTunes and KEXP

    iTunes Logo
    You can now find KEXP under "Eclectic" in iTunes after the demise of the "Public" category, to better represent the diversity of our daytime variety shows and numerous specialty programs.
Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories