Out This Week 5/8

On Silversun Pickups‘s latest and third album, the LA band shaves the fuzz of their guitars in favor of a more brooding, heavily electronic sound. You can pick up Neck of the Woods and a handful of other new albums out this week, including the second studio album from Kingston, Ontario duo PS I Love You, which according to our Music Director, Don Yates, is another impressive blend of energetic post-punk and anthemic garage-rock with loud, ringing guitars, muscular rhythms, yelping vocals and punchy song hooks.” For a taste of their rocking sound, check out their in-studio session at KEXP when the band was in town last spring. LA punk supergroup OFF! — featuring members of Black Flag, Burning Brides, Redd Kross, and Hot Snakes — finally release their official debut full-length. If you’re a fan of any of those bands, pick up their self-titled LP. It rips! Also out this week is the latest from the ever prolific Damon Albarn, who takes a break from Blur and his gazillion side projects for a concept album based on the life of Elizabethan mathematician John Dee. Despite the antiquated subject matter, Albarn still manages to add it some modern and African flavors.

Other albums out this week include the latest from Here We Go Magic, recorded with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich; the solo debut from Akron/Family percussionist Dana Buoy; and Live In Detroit, 1986, the first new Fela Kuti material to be issued since his final, 1992 studio album, Underground System.

Head out to your local record store today for these and other excellent new albums, but not before sampling the tracks below. You never know what you might discover!

Damon Albarn – The Marvelous Dream
from Dr Dee on Parlophone

Animal Kingdom – Strange Attractor
from The Looking Away on Boombox / Mom + Pop

Bigg Jus – Black Roses
from Machines That Make Civilzation Fun on Mush Records

Sean Bones – Here Now (MP3)
from Buzzards Boy (self-released)

Dana Buoy – Call To Be (MP3)
from Summer Bodies on Lefse Records

S. Carey – Two Angles (MP3)
from Hoyas EP on Jagjaguwar

Cheers Elephant – Falling Out (MP3)
from Like Wind Blows Fire (self-released)

The Cribs – Chi Town (MP3)
from In The Belly Of The Brazen Bull on Witchita Recordings

The Driftwood Singers – I Don’t Live Here Anymore (MP3)
from I Don’t Live Here Anymore on Trailer Fire Records

Heavy Cream – John Johnny (MP3)
from Super Treatment on Infinity Cat

Here We Go Magic – Make Up Your Mind (MP3)
from A Different Ship on Secretly Canadian

Fela Kuti – Teacher Don’t Teach Me Nonsense
from on Live In Detroit, 1986 on Knitting Factory Records

Led Er Est – Kaiyo Maru (MP3)
from The Diver on Sacred Bones Records

OFF! – Cracked (MP3)
from OFF! on Vice

Orpheum Bell – Poor Laetitia (MP3)
from The Other Sister’s Home (self-released)

PS I Love You – Don’t Go
from Death Dreams on Paper Bag Records

Royal Headache – Down the Lane (MP3)
from Royal Headache on What’s Your Rupture?

Silversun Pickups – Bloody Mary
from Neck of the Woods on Dangerbird Records

Video Love – Le Bruit des Machines (MP3)
from Mon Ange on Lentonia Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories