Tuesday Music News

photo by Morgen Schuler

  • In perhaps the most epic triple header since Florida’s Liturgy/Sleigh Bells/Diplo shows earlier this year, it has just been announced that Grimes, Diplo, and Skrillex will be touring across Canada on a train. They won’t be coming to Seattle at all, but if you don’t mind the drive, the Full Flex Express, as they call it, will make a stop in Vancouver on July 22. The three will also be aided by Pretty Lights, KOAN Sound, and Tokimonsta. If you don’t have work the next day, we suggest you go.
  • Sigur Rós has just been announced as headliners of the 2012Iceland Airwave festival. If the previously announced lineup wasn’t enough to convince you to get your tickets, this should seal it. We at KEXP can’t recommend this festival enough! And look for more news on the upcoming Sigur Rós album soon.

  • CocoRosie finally has a new single coming out! This will be the band’s first new offering since Grey Oceans in 2010. The track is called “We Are On Fire” and the 7″ single will be out June 5. Surprisingly enough, the track is produced by Dave Sitek, as will be their next album! Listen to “We Are On Fire” below:

  • Electronic fans have been eagerly awaiting the new record by Four Tet, supposedly out later this year. For now, we have a new single and B-side to take in and ease the transitional period. “Jupiters”/”Ocoras” will be out on 12″ soon, but the digital versions have made their way to the internet. Listen to “Jupiters” below. The intro is quite bright for Four Tet, but a little after the two minute mark, he drops back into the dark corner he’s carved out for himself so well and even brings the synth lead with him.

  • The new Magnetic Fields video for Love at the Bottom of the Sea track “Quick!” is about trashcans in love. Does that surprise you at all? Watch it below:

  • The Walkmen have another track from upcoming album Heaven. “We Can’t Be Beat” is an easy, melancholy tune about hard times and staying positive focusing on what you love and remembering that perfection sucks. Heaven is out May 29 on Fat Possum. Check out “We Can’t Be Beat” below:

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories