Monday Music News

photo by Renata Steiner

  • Via his Twitter account, Girls singer/guitarist Christopher Owens announced this morning that he was leaving the band he co-founded in 2007 due to personal reasons. He stated that his departure “may come as a surprise to many” and that “my decision was not easy to make. I need to do this in order to progress.” Owens said that he plans to write and record music in the future, but no details regarding this – or the future of Girls – have been announced.
  • The future of the seminal Britpop group Blur seems to change every week, but today, the release of two new songs seem to give concrete evidence that the quartet still have gas left in the creative tank if they decide to carry on. The band performed the two songs, “The Puritan” and “Under The Westway”, from a rooftop this morning, and they’re now available for listening on their official Youtube channel and purchase on 7″ vinyl from their website.

  • After making waves with the (for one reason or another) memorable video for “Hey Jane”, Spritualized have released a video for “Little Girl”, the second single off Sweet Heart Sweet Light. Directed by Vincent Haycock, the clip tells the story of “a young female runaway (played by Chesca Miles) who steals her dad’s money and motorcycle to escape the god-forsaken, post-Soviet demise small town in which she lives.” If that sounds like a good way to spend four-and-a-half minutes, watch it below.

  • After premiering some of the songs via a live performance on KEXP, Dirty Projectors are streaming all of their forthcoming album, Swing Lo Magellan, ahead of its July 10th release (via Domino). Listen to the album and read an interview with bandleader Dave Longstreth at the New York Times.
  • UK producer Four Tet has been releasing vinyl singles through his own TEXT Records label for a few months now, but he’s yet to compile them in one spot. That changes next month with the digital release of Pink on August 20th. The release will feature all six singles, and two more tracks that are currently unreleased. For those looking to complete the set on vinyl, the two songs, “Lion” and “Peace for Earth”, will be released eventually, according to the producer. See the artwork and the tracklisting over at Consequence of Sound.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories