Monday Music News

  • In a big day for song debuts, Passion Pit released a third track off their upcoming album Gossamer, due out July 24 via Columbia Records. The song, titled “Constant Conversations,” is somewhat of an indie R&B ballad – a bit slower, albeit just as sparkly, than what we’ve come to expect from the electro-pop quintet. Listen to “Constant Conversations” below, and be sure to check out “I’ll Be Alright” and “Take a Walk” off of Gossamer as well.

  • Psychedelic Australian rock group Tame Impala have announced their new album Lonerism, as well as released a new song “Apocalypse Dreams.” Lonerism, due out in October via Modular records, is the follow up to their critically acclaimed debut album Innerspeaker. The first single off Lonerism, titled “Elephant,” is set to come out later this month, but in the meanwhile check out “Apocalypse Dreams,” a whirlwind track combining classic Beatles rock sounds with Flaming Lips circa The Soft Bulletin production. Check out the new track below, and head over to Pitchfork for more information.

  • The Mountain Goats have announced their 14th studio album Transcendental Youth will be released in early October on Merge Records. Transcendental Youth is the latest from prolific songwriter and Mountain Goats’ frontman John Darnielle, who, in addition to describing the album as their “Satan record” in a recent Rolling Stone write up, has also posted an in-depth look into the album on the group’s website. Head over to Consequence of Sound for more details, including a track list and a hilarious biographical introduction by writer and comedian John Hodgman.

  • The Walkmen have released a video for their song “The Love You Love” off their new album Heaven. The video, which features plenty of grainy black and white footage and a sort of spooky child (who happens to be guitarist Paul Moon’s son), is directed by Sean Pecknold, brother of Fleet Fox’s Robin Pecknold. Head over to Prefix for more information and check out the video below:

  • Grizzly Bear have released the title and artwork for their forthcoming album Shields, due out September 18 on Warp Records. Shields is the follow up to the 2009 album Veckatimest and is Grizzly Bear’s fourth full-length effort. Check out the artwork for Shields, as well a song from the forthcoming album titled “Sleeping Ute,” below:

  • Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti have released “Only In My Dreams,” a new song off the forthcoming album Mature Themes. The song features jangly guitars and sleepy, up-beat vocals, highly reminiscent of a 60’s pop song. Mature Themes is the follow up to the 2010 album Before Today, and is set to come out in late August via 4AD. For more information, head over to Stereogum, and be sure to listen to “Only In My Dreams” below:

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories