Out This Week 7/23

We envy you. When you go into your favorite record store today or hop online to your trusted music merchant, you are about to buy your favorite album of the year. Or one of them, anyway… there’s a lot of competition this fall! Purity Ring, though, the Halifax/Montreal-based duo, have finally released their full-length debut, which our Music Director, Don Yates, calls “a remarkable album of beat-driven electro-pop, blending elements of atmospheric dream-pop with modern hip hop and R&B on lush, sharply executed songs combining sparkling and warped synths, cavernous hip hop beats, sugary melodies, ethereal, occasionally auto-tuned vocals and dark, imaginative lyrics.” Energetic and inventive, Shrines, will quickly become your summer soundtrack. Much news has been made recently of Michael Angelakos’ “mental health”, which he discussed at length with Pitchfork, so many critics are likely to speculate on how it affected the new Passion Pit LP out today. But fans will surely flock to Gossamer and enjoy the band’s signature synthy dance pop while holding on tight to the album’s experimental flights. While you remain on this uptempo elated musical high, be sure to also check out the third album from Fang Island, “a triumphant, hook-filled blend of anthemic power-pop and playful prog-rock, with soaring guitar riffs, bright keyboards, energetic rhythms, buoyant harmonies and sunny pop melodies”, and the latest from Roanoke, VA’s Eternal Summers, whose second release “brings a fuller, punchier sound and sharper songwriting to their ’80s-steeped blend of sunny New Wave power pop, spiky post-punk and atmospheric dream-pop.” Right there, you’ve got four perfect summer albums.

But of course there’s more! New Zealand singer-songwriter James Milne, a.k.a. Lawrence Arabia, returns with his second album this week, “a fine set of dark, orchestral indie-pop combining imaginative arrangements with melancholy lyrics.” Stereolab’s Laetitia Sadier speaks out on her latest solo release, Silencio, a mostly political album, in which songs with messages like “There is a Price to Pay for Freedom (and it isn’t Security)” are counterpointed by the French singer’s breezy vocals. U.K. group Micachu & The Shapes return with their second album of oddball experimental pop, and our recent guest, the mercurially monikered Bonnie “Prince” Billy, follows last year’s LP, Wolfroy Goes to Town, with an EP revisiting earlier songs from his catalog, including “I See A Darkness,” his biggest “hit,” recapturing them in a decidedly new and frequently jovial way.

While you’re at it, pick up two more EPs: on one, Brooklyn band The Antlers seek new depths on Undersea, their first release on Anti-; and on the other, formative San Diego band Three Mile Pilot, whose earlier demise spawned Pinback and The Black Heart Procession, follow up their 2010 return with the Maps EP. Also, be sure to look for debut by Beach Fossils bassist John Peña, whose heavenly new albums is appropriately titled Heavenly Beat, the latest from ping-ponger Shawn Lee, a promising single from NYC (by way of Denton)’s Grassfight, a new experimental project called Anywhere, and the debut Arizona group Wizards of Time.

And we can’t forget to mention that the Macklemore and Ryan Lewis single, “Same Love,” is out today. All proceeds from this song — co-released by Macklemore LLC, Music for Marriage Equality, and Sub Pop Records — will go to support marriage equality.

You can purchase the song at either iTunes or Amazon. The rest of this week’s new releases will be waiting for you, along with your new favorite album, at record stores today:

The Antlers – Drift Dive
from Undersea EP on Anti- Records

Anywhere – Anywhere
from Anywhere on ATP Recordings

Bonnie Prince Billy – I See A Darkness
from Now Here’s My Plan EP on Drag City / Domino

Dots Will Echo – I Like It (MP3)
from Drunk is the New Sober / Stupid is the New Dumb on Asthmatic Kitty

Eternal Summers – Millions (MP3)
from Correct Behavior on Kanine Records

Family Band – Night Song (MP3)
from Moonbeams on No Quarter

Fang Island – Seek It Out
from Major on Sargent House

Foxygen – Waitin’ 4 U (MP3)
from Take the Kids Off Broadway on Jagjaguwar

The Gaslight Anthem – 45
from Handwritten on Mercury Records

Grassfight – Look Homeward, Heathen (MP3)
from Icon EP2 (self-released)

Guardian Alien – See the World Given to a One Love Entity (Part 1) (MP3)
from See the World Given to a One Love Entity on Thrill Jockey

Heavenly Beat – Messiah (MP3)
from Talent on Captured Tracks

Idjut Boys – Going Down
from Cellar Door on Smalltown Supersound

Lawrence Arabia – Traveling Shoes (MP3)
from The Sparrow on Bella Union

Shawn Lee – Head Up (MP3)
from Synthesizers in Space on ESL Music

Micachu and the Shapes – OK (MP3)
from Never on Rough Trade

OM – State of Non-Return (MP3)
from Advaitic Songs on Drag City

Passion Pit – I’ll Be Alright
from Gossamer on Columbia Records

Post War Years – Glass House (MP3)
from Glass House EP on Chess Club Records

Purity Ring – Obedear (MP3)
from Shrines on 4AD

Rodriguez – movie trailer
from Rodriguez: Searching for Sugar Man (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) on Sony Legacy

Laetitia Sadier – Find Me the Pulse of the Universe (MP3)
from Silencio on Drag City

Sugar – Hoover Dam
from Copper Blue / Beaster and File Under: Easy Listening (deluxe reissues) on Merge Records

Three Mile Pilot – Long Way Up (MP3)
from Maps EP on Temporary Residence

TNGHT (Hudson Mohawke x Lunice) – Bugg’n
from TNGHT EP on Warp

Wizards of Time – Little’s Jingle (MP3)
from Will The Soft Curse Plague On? on Hidden Shoal Recordings

Young Moon – Winds Light (MP3)
from Navigated Like the Swans on Western Vinyl

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


  1. Jerry
    Posted July 24, 2012 at 11:34 am | Permalink

    Really stoked on the new Passion Pit record! I love that they got really personal with the lyrics and the hooks are still there. It is probably my album of the year so far!

  2. Joanne
    Posted July 31, 2012 at 1:36 pm | Permalink

    Wizards of Time are incredible, should’ve had more to say about them. I have yet to hear an album released this year that comes close to “Will the Soft Curse Plague On” in terms of beauty, complexity/simplicity, and intensity.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories