Tuesday Music News

photo by Dave Lichterman

  • Songs from Coexist, the xx‘s forthcoming sophomore album, are continuing to trickle out onto the internet, but instead of being unveiled by fan footage, the newest song to be revealed was released by the band themselves. “Chained,” the second track on Coexist has yet to be played live, but you can hear it now in a visually enhanced video released by the band this morning.

  • Less than a month removed from their stellar Capitol Hill Block Party performance, Thee Oh Sees have released the second taste of their forthcoming fourteenth album, Putrifiers II. A straightforward rock and roll throwback with hints of ’60s psychedelia, “Flood’s New Light” is vintage Thee Oh Sees. Putrifiers II doesn’t arrive until September 11th (on In The Red), but a free downloadable MP3 of the track is already up here.
  • Wild Nothing‘s sophomore release Nocturne isn’t out until August 28th, but band mastermind Jack Tatum has released a new track entitled “Paradise” on a lunar calendar-centric website for the album. Check out the unique promotional site here, which features a link to a free download of “Paradise”.
  • To celebrate composer Philip Glass‘ 75th birthday, Beck and producer Hector Castillo have compiled an album of remixes of Glass’ works. Entitled Rework: Philip Glass Remixed, the album will be released on October 23rd and features remixes from Beck, Dan Deacon, Amon Tobin, and Tyondai Braxton among others. See the artwork and tracklisting for Rework over at Consequence of Sound.
  • Although they’ve been disbanded for nearly a year now, R.E.M. are continuing with the reissue campaign they started in 2008 with a 25th anniversary reissue of their breakthrough album Document on September 25th. The package will include a remastered version of the 1987 album, a recording of their Spetember 14th, 1987 show in Utrecht, Holland, new liner notes, and four postcards all housed in a lift-top box. A 180-gram vinyl version will also be available. See the full tracklisting over at Pitchfork.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories