Friday Music News

photo by Dave Lichterman

  • Two years removed from 2010’s only best concept album relating the Civil War to pained life in the suburbs, New Jersey punks Titus Andronicus have announced details of their third album, the relatively less amibitious Local Business. Due on October 23rd through XL Recordings, the ten-track LP will likely be 2012’s only album to feature both a guest turn from Owen Pallett on violin and a song called “Food Fight!”. View live clips of some of the songs and the tracklisting for Local Business over at Titus Andronicus’ blog.
  • Ahead of the release of their second LP, The Vaccines Come of Age, The Vaccines have offered a four-track EP of covers for free download. If you’ve ever wanted to hear the English four-piece take on Wire’s “Mannequin”, Nick Lowe’s “The Beast In Me”, Jonathan Richman’s “That Summer Feeling”, or “The Winner Takes It All” by ABBA, head on over to The Vaccines’ website.

  • The 2012 Summer Olympics (and Audiolympics) are nearly over, and to celebrate the closing ceremonies, Blur will play a headlining show in Hyde Park this Sunday. For Blur fans who wish to relive the moment while Damon Albarn continues to make up his mind about the future of the band, Blur will release a recording of the show, entitled Parklive, next Monday, August 13th via iTunes. In November, the band will release a deluxe edition of Parklive, which includes an audio recording of the Hyde Park show, a DVD of the performance, and a recording entitled Blur Live At The 100 Club, which contains tracks from the band’s show at London’s 100 Club earlier this month. View more details and pre-order the package over at Abbey Road Live.
  • After releasing an interactive video for her collab with Mastodon, Feist has released a much more intimate, devil-horn free video for the song “Anti-Pioneer” from last year’s Metals. The Martin de Thurah-directed clip features Feist singing the song in a hazy, reflective, monochrome setting. Watch the darkly beautiful video below.

  • Ahead of the September 4th release of his forthcoming album I Know What Love Isn’t, Jens Lekman has released a video for the album’s title track. The straightforward video features Jens and his band playing this song in a completely white room. Watch the incredibly spartan clip below.

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories