Monday Music News

photo by Brittany Bush Bollay

  • Canadian duo Japandroids have already had a banner summer of 2012 touring behind their second album Celebration Rock, and they’ll be taking their stage-dive friendly live show across the world for the rest of the year too. After traveling across Europe for two months, they’ll be returning to the United States in November (with a stop at Neumos on November 15th). To celebrate, the duo have released their first-ever music video for “The House That Heaven Built”, which you can watch below.

  • Animal Collective‘s radio show continues to be a fountain of new music for fans of the experimental band with the release of three new Avey Tare tracks (including two cuts with Dirty Projectors sorta-member Angel Deradoorian) and news that the band will stream their forthcoming album Centipede Hz on next week’s broadcast. Listen to the new Avey Tare tracks over at Consequence of Sound and tune into their broadcast on Sunday, August 19th starting at 6 p.m. PST to hear Centipede Hz ahead of its September 4th release date.

  • Fans who didn’t get tickets to see Frank Ocean on his sold-out debut tour might have to wait a little longer, because the sometimes-Odd Future member has canceled all of his upcoming dates. Ocean didn’t give a reason for canceling the shows other than saying, “a tough decision had to be made in regard to my schedule over the next months.” In possibly-related news, Ocean lost his voice early in a performance at Norway’s Oya Festival a day before the announcement, but neither Ocean or his publicist have commented on the matter. Read Frank’s full statement over at the Facebook page for Way Out West Festival (which was the first of the canceled appearances.)
  • After friends and family feared him to be missing, Killing Joke frontman Jaz Coleman recently surfaced in the Sahara, where he had been on a retreat to focus on new projects. Coleman apparently was surprised by the speculation of his disappearance and claims not to have been the one to post negative comments about the scheduled tour with The Cult and The Mission and cancelling Killing Jokes’ participation… however, now he’s saying that he’ll cancel after all, given all the hubbub that’s ensued. Read more here.
  • Sacramento’s riotous Death Grips will fulfill their promise to follow up April’s The Money Store with the release of a second 2012 album “most likely” in late October. The album, NO LOVE DEEP WEB, is 13 tracks long, was recorded in Oakland and Sacramento, mixed in Shanghai and features no contribution from outside producers or musicians. After canceling their previous tour to finish work on the album, the group plans to tour extensively behind NO LOVE, and are also in correspondance with Crispin Glover regarding making a video for the album. Read the full report on the album over at Pitchfork.
  • Although the Washington D.C. rock band The Dismemberment Plan remained non-committal to the idea of a new album when they reunited last year, it seems that they’ll soon be eating their words as the band debuted not one, but seven new songs at a show on Friday night. The band has been mum on what this means for their future together, but until then, watch decent-quality footage of six of the songs over at Stereogum.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories