Thursday Music News

  • Fresh of their 2012 release Reign of Terror, ear splitting power-pop outfit Sleigh Bells have teamed up with the fast fingered hip hop producer AraabMuzik for a fall U.S. tour. In their very first tweet ever (one tweet, over 36,000 followers…), Sleigh Bells predicts “It’s gonna be dope.” We concur.

  • Kill Rock Stars has has released an alternative recording of the Elliott Smith song “Angeles” in honor of what would have been the singer’s 43rd birthday. Throughout August, KRS has been releasing rare tracks from Smith’s recording sessions with the label for the album Either/Or. Check out alternate takes of “Alameda” and “Punch and Judy” here, and hear “Angeles” below:

  • Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon has written a song for a 25-piece chorus, which sounds pretty much exactly as eerily beautiful as you might expect. The Silver Lake Chorus, known for their work with the SNL affiliated Lonely Island, is an LA-based chorus currently working on their self-released EP titled Wreckage, which features original songs written for the group from artists including Vernon as well as A.C. Newman of New Pornographers fame. For more information, head over to Pitchfork, and listen to Vernon’s track for the group, titled “From the Snow Tipped Hills,” below:

  • Not to get all political on you, but Presidential hopeful Mitt Romney is feeling some heat from musicians lately. Silversun Pickups issued a cease and desist letter after their song “Panic Switch” was played during a campaign event. A Romney spokesperson claims that the use was accidental and that it isn’t a song they’d ever play intentionally. Meanwhile, iconic new wavers DEVO just released a song memorializing the Romney’s dog, Seamus, who was infamously transported on a rooftop carrier during a family vacation. Here’s “Don’t Roof Rack Me, Bro!”:

  • Keys To The Kuffs, the long awaited collaboration between DOOM and Jneiro Jarel, is now streaming over at SoundCloud. The 15-track album, which features collaborations from numerous heavy-hitters, including Damon Albarn, Beth Gibbons, Thom Yorke, and Jonny Greenwood. Check out and pre-order the album over at Consequence of Sound.

  • Flying Lotus released the latest track from his highly anticipated album Until The Quiet Comes titled “See Thru To U” featuring singer Erykah Badu. The glitchy chilled-out track creates a dense atmosphere for Badu’s soft voice to effortlessly float through. Listen to the song below, and be sure to check out Until The Quiet Comes, which also features guest vocals by Thom Yorke, due out October 2 via Warp Records:

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment

  1. Katie
    Posted August 16, 2012 at 2:32 pm | Permalink

    Hmm, I guess Sleigh Bells deleted their old tweets? I definitely remember seeing their announcement of the canceled Seattle show on there…

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories