Tuesday Music News

photo by Brittany Bollay

  • Without much notice or fanfare, SBTRKT has released another new track on his Soundcloud account. The newest surprise song, “Terminal”, follows the late-July release of the track “Gloss“. There’s no word on whether or not these tracks will feature on an upcoming release. Listen to “Terminal” below.

  • Also finding release without any prior notice is Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s first album since 2002, ALLELUJAH! DON’T BEND! ASCEND!. Fans first noticed the album on sale at the band’s show in Boston last night, and allegedly, the band will continue to sell the album at shows until the album finds wider release on October 16th through Constellation. You can check out the tracklist (all four songs) and artwork over at Pitchfork.
  • As Billy Corgan and company gear up for their fall tour, The Smashing Pumpkins reissue campaign continues with the release of a sprawling new version of the band’s 1995 opus Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness on December 3rd. A remastered version of the original 28-track album is supplemented with – deep breath – 64 unreleased tracks, two books containing artwork and lyrics, a DVD featuring two performances from 1996, and a Decoupage kit so listeners can create their own takes on the album’s artwork. (It’s also coming out in standard and 180-gram vinyl editions.) Check out the whole tracklisting over at Consequence of Sound.
  • Noted Christmas fanatic Sufjan Stevens has released a hefty amount of holiday-themed music in his career, and now he’s prepping to release Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas, Vols. 6-10, his second box set of Christmas music. The five EPs were originally intended as gifts for friends and family, but Stevens has now chosen to release the recordings, including 18 original compositions and covers. The box also includes, among other things, stickers, lyric sheets, a paper ornament, and whatever an apocalyptic pull-out poster is. View the tracklisting over at Stereogum and listen to one of the original songs, the twelve-minute “Silver & Gold”, below.

  • One of the late Amy Winehouse’s last recording sessions was with Nas, resulting in the track “Cherry Wine” on Nas‘ stellar latest LP, Life Is Good. Not to be outdone by Dr. Dre, Nas and director Jay Martin have inserted a hologram version of the late singer in the video for the track. It’s not quite as eerie as hologram Tupac, but it’s close. Watch Nas flirt with a girl at a bar while hologram Amy sings in the background below.

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories